Published mark

Brown & Brown

BROWN & BROWN, INC.

NYSE: BRO. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:68ce643b-f0cc-4340-b10c-1d08f6ac1d5c
SEC CIK
0000079282
Website
www.bbrown.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 16, 2026
Newest evidence
May 3, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
J. Powell BrownSince Feb 12, 2026
Chair
Not publishedLead independent: H. Palmer Proctor, Jr.
Independent
Not published7 directors published
Published claims
476 distinct sources
Evidence records
260 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 6 distinct sources and 26 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

DIRECTOR APPOINTED

Bronislaw E. Masojada seat on Brown & Brown, effective 2026-03-24.

EffectiveEffective Mar 24, 2026E3

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Executive vice president; chairman - Specialty Distribution segmentClark A. WalkerFeb 2026currentSource reportedE17
President, chief executive officerJ. Powell BrownFeb 2026currentSource reportedE18
Executive vice president; chief acquisitions officerJ. Scott PennyFeb 2026currentSource reportedE19
Executive vice president; chief people officerJulie L. TurpinFeb 2026currentSource reportedE20
Executive vice presidentP. Barrett BrownFeb 2026currentSource reportedE21
Executive vice president; chief financial officer and treasurerR. Andrew WattsFeb 2026currentSource reportedE22
Executive vice president; president - Specialty Distribution segmentStephen M. BoydFeb 2026currentSource reportedE23
Executive vice president; chief operating officer and president - Retail segmentStephen P. HearnFeb 2026currentSource reportedE24
Executive vice president; chairman - Specialty Distribution segmentChris L. WalkerNot capturedunknownSource reportedE16

Board of directors

Evidence

7 directors published. Independence determinations are not published for every director.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Bronislaw E. MasojadaIndependence not published2026AuditAudit; CompensationCompensationSource reportedE3
H. Palmer Proctor, Jr.Independence not publishedLead Independent2026Nominating/Corporate Governance, chairNominating/Corporate Governance · ChairSource reportedE4
Jaymin B. PatelIndependence not published2026Audit, chairAudit · ChairSource reportedE7
Joia M. JohnsonIndependence not published2026None publishedSource reportedE8
Kathleen A. SavioIndependence not published2026AuditAudit; CompensationCompensationSource reportedE9
Timothy R.M. MainIndependence not published2026None publishedSource reportedE14
Wendell S. ReillyIndependence not published2026Nominating/Corporate GovernanceSource reportedE15
J. Powell BrownIndependence not publishedNot publishedNone publishedSource reportedE5
James S. HuntIndependence not publishedNot publishedAuditSource reportedE6
Lawrence L. Gellerstedt IIIIndependence not publishedNot publishedCompensation, chairCompensation · ChairSource reportedE10
Paul J. KrumpIndependence not publishedNot publishedAuditSource reportedE11
T. Benjamin JenningsIndependence not publishedNot publishedCompensationCompensation; Nominating/Corporate GovernanceNominating/Corporate GovernanceSource reportedE12
Theodore J. HoepnerIndependence not publishedNot publishedNominating/Corporate GovernanceSource reportedE13

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditJaymin B. PatelJaymin B. Patel, Bronislaw E. Masojada, James S. Hunt, Kathleen A. Savio, Paul J. KrumpNot described in the published record
Audit · ChairNot publishedJaymin B. PatelNot described in the published record
Audit; CompensationNot publishedBronislaw E. Masojada, Kathleen A. SavioNot described in the published record
CompensationLawrence L. Gellerstedt IIILawrence L. Gellerstedt III, Bronislaw E. Masojada, Kathleen A. Savio, T. Benjamin JenningsNot described in the published record
Compensation · ChairNot publishedLawrence L. Gellerstedt IIINot described in the published record
Compensation; Nominating/Corporate GovernanceNot publishedT. Benjamin JenningsNot described in the published record
Nominating/Corporate GovernanceH. Palmer Proctor, Jr.H. Palmer Proctor, Jr., T. Benjamin Jennings, Theodore J. Hoepner, Wendell S. ReillyNot described in the published record
Nominating/Corporate Governance · ChairNot publishedH. Palmer Proctor, Jr.Not described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Jaymin B. Patel; Members Jaymin B. Patel (Chair); Bronislaw E. Masojada; James S. Hunt; Kathleen A. Savio; Paul J. Krump
Committee AppointmentJaymin B. Patel: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentBronislaw E. Masojada: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentJames S. Hunt: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentKathleen A. Savio: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentPaul J. Krump: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation: Chair Lawrence L. Gellerstedt III; Members Lawrence L. Gellerstedt III (Chair); Bronislaw E. Masojada; Kathleen A. Savio; T. Benjamin Jennings
Committee AppointmentLawrence L. Gellerstedt III: chair, Compensation
Committee AppointmentBronislaw E. Masojada: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentKathleen A. Savio: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentT. Benjamin Jennings: member, Compensation
Committee RecordNominating/Corporate Governance: Chair H. Palmer Proctor, Jr.; Members H. Palmer Proctor, Jr. (Chair); T. Benjamin Jennings; Theodore J. Hoepner; Wendell S. Reilly
Committee AppointmentH. Palmer Proctor, Jr.: chair, Nominating/Corporate Governance
Committee AppointmentT. Benjamin Jennings: member, Nominating/Corporate Governance
Committee AppointmentTheodore J. Hoepner: member, Nominating/Corporate Governance
Committee AppointmentWendell S. Reilly: member, Nominating/Corporate Governance

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerJ. Powell Brown, President, chief executive officer, from Feb 12, 2026
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingBRO (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 16, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NYSE: BROcurrentSep 20, 2021inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameBROWN & BROWN, INC.
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.bbrown.com
Published FactFinancials
Published Facthttps://www.bbrown.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
26 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 16, 2026. Cited by 6 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    BROWN & BROWN INC Form 10-K. SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2026. Retrieved May 16, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2026. Retrieved May 16, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2026. Retrieved May 16, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2026. Retrieved May 16, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2026. Retrieved May 16, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  13. E13
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  14. E14
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2026. Retrieved May 16, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  15. E15
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2026. Retrieved May 16, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  16. E16
    BRO executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  17. E17
    sec filing. Published Feb 12, 2026. Retrieved May 14, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  18. E18
    sec filing. Published Feb 12, 2026. Retrieved May 14, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  19. E19
    sec filing. Published Feb 12, 2026. Retrieved May 14, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  20. E20
    sec filing. Published Feb 12, 2026. Retrieved May 14, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  21. E21
    sec filing. Published Feb 12, 2026. Retrieved May 14, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  22. E22
    sec filing. Published Feb 12, 2026. Retrieved May 14, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  23. E23
    sec filing. Published Feb 12, 2026. Retrieved May 14, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  24. E24
    sec filing. Published Feb 12, 2026. Retrieved May 14, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  25. E25
    board_seats. sp500-board-director-completeness-remediation-2026-05-15. Cited by 16 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  26. E26
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 16, 2026
  • Bronislaw E. Masojada seat on Brown & Brown, effective 2026-03-24.
  • H. Palmer Proctor, Jr. seat on Brown & Brown, effective 2026-03-24.
  • H. Palmer Proctor, Jr. lead independent director of Brown & Brown, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Jaymin B. Patel seat on Brown & Brown, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Joia M. Johnson seat on Brown & Brown, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Kathleen A. Savio seat on Brown & Brown, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Timothy R.M. Main seat on Brown & Brown, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Wendell S. Reilly seat on Brown & Brown, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Audit · Chair committee of Brown & Brown, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Jaymin B. Patel member of Audit · Chair, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Audit; Compensation committee of Brown & Brown, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Bronislaw E. Masojada member of Audit; Compensation, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Kathleen A. Savio member of Audit; Compensation, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Nominating/Corporate Governance · Chair committee of Brown & Brown, effective 2026-03-24.
  • H. Palmer Proctor, Jr. member of Nominating/Corporate Governance · Chair, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Clark A. Walker executive of Brown & Brown, effective 2026-02-12.
  • J. Powell Brown executive of Brown & Brown, effective 2026-02-12.
  • J. Scott Penny executive of Brown & Brown, effective 2026-02-12.
  • Julie L. Turpin executive of Brown & Brown, effective 2026-02-12.
  • P. Barrett Brown executive of Brown & Brown, effective 2026-02-12.
  • R. Andrew Watts executive of Brown & Brown, effective 2026-02-12.
  • Stephen M. Boyd executive of Brown & Brown, effective 2026-02-12.
  • Stephen P. Hearn executive of Brown & Brown, effective 2026-02-12.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:68ce643b-f0cc-4340-b10c-1d08f6ac1d5c, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/brown-brown-inc

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:68ce643b-f0cc-4340-b10c-1d08f6ac1d5c
  • Cite this recordBrown & Brown
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/brown-brown-inc
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    Brown & BrownCompany
  • Clark A. WalkerPerson
  • J. Powell BrownPerson
  • J. Scott PennyPerson
  • Julie L. TurpinPerson
  • P. Barrett BrownPerson
  • R. Andrew WattsPerson
  • Stephen M. BoydPerson
  • Stephen P. HearnPerson
  • Chris L. WalkerPerson
  • Bronislaw E. MasojadaPerson
  • H. Palmer Proctor, Jr.Person
  • Jaymin B. PatelPerson
  • Joia M. JohnsonPerson
  • Kathleen A. SavioPerson
  • Timothy R.M. MainPerson
  • Wendell S. ReillyPerson
  • James S. HuntPerson
  • Lawrence L. Gellerstedt IIIPerson
  • Paul J. KrumpPerson
  • T. Benjamin JenningsPerson
  • Theodore J. HoepnerPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewBrown & Brown
  • MonitoringBrown & Brown
  • LeadershipBrown & Brown
  • BoardBrown & Brown
  • CommitteesBrown & Brown
  • Control and votingBrown & Brown
  • Authority to actBrown & Brown
  • FinancialsBrown & Brown
  • GovernanceBrown & Brown
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.