Published mark

Ciena

CIENA CORP

NYSE: CIEN. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:3549bda4-5ac9-41bd-94a6-e819300825dd
SEC CIK
0000936395
Website
www.ciena.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 16, 2026
Newest evidence
May 3, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Gary B. SmithSince Dec 12, 2025
Chair
Not published
Independent
7 / 77 directors published
Published claims
405 distinct sources
Evidence records
140 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 5 distinct sources and 14 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

EXECUTIVE APPOINTED

Brodie Gage executive of Ciena, effective 2025-12-12.

EffectiveEffective Dec 12, 2025E4

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Senior Vice President, Global Products Supply ChainBrodie GageDec 2025currentSource reportedE4
Senior Vice President, Chief Strategy Officer and SecretaryDavid M. RothensteinDec 2025currentSource reportedE5
Senior Vice President, Global Research DevelopmentDino DiPernaDec 2025currentSource reportedE6
President and Chief Executive OfficerGary B. SmithDec 2025currentSource reportedE7
Senior Vice President, Global Customer EngagementJason M. PhippsDec 2025currentSource reportedE8
Senior Vice President and General Manager of Blue PlanetJoe CumelloDec 2025currentSource reportedE9
Senior Vice President and Chief Financial OfficerMichael GraffDec 2025currentSource reportedE11
Senior Vice President and General Counsel, and acting Chief People OfficerSheela KosarajuDec 2025currentSource reportedE12
Senior Vice President and Chief Financial OfficerMarc D. GraffNot capturedunknownSource reportedE10

Board of directors

Evidence

7 directors published. 7 of 7 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Bruce L. ClaflinIndependent2006AuditAudit; CompensationCompensationSource reportedE3
Hassan M. AhmedIndependent2020CompensationGovernance and NominationsGovernance and Nominations; CompensationSource reportedE3
Joanne B. OlsenIndependent2018Compensation, chairGovernance and NominationsGovernance and Nominations; Compensation · ChairSource reportedE3
Lawton W. FittIndependent2000Governance and NominationsSource reportedE3
Mary G. PumaIndependent2023AuditSource reportedE3
Patrick T. GallagherIndependent2009CompensationGovernance and Nominations, chairGovernance and Nominations · Chair; CompensationSource reportedE3
T. Michael NevensIndependent2014AuditSource reportedE3
Dr. Amit KumarIndependence not publishedNot publishedAudit, chairSource reportedE13

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditDr. Amit KumarDr. Amit Kumar, Bruce L. Claflin, Mary G. Puma, T. Michael NevensNot described in the published record
Audit; CompensationNot publishedBruce L. ClaflinNot described in the published record
CompensationJoanne B. OlsenJoanne B. Olsen, Bruce L. Claflin, Hassan M. Ahmed, Patrick T. GallagherNot described in the published record
Governance and NominationsPatrick T. GallagherPatrick T. Gallagher, Hassan M. Ahmed, Joanne B. Olsen, Lawton W. FittNot described in the published record
Governance and Nominations · Chair; CompensationNot publishedPatrick T. GallagherNot described in the published record
Governance and Nominations; CompensationNot publishedHassan M. AhmedNot described in the published record
Governance and Nominations; Compensation · ChairNot publishedJoanne B. OlsenNot described in the published record
Committee AppointmentDr. Amit Kumar: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentBruce L. Claflin: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentMary G. Puma: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentT. Michael Nevens: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation: Chair Joanne B. Olsen; Members Joanne B. Olsen (Chair); Bruce L. Claflin; Hassan M. Ahmed; Patrick T. Gallagher
Committee AppointmentJoanne B. Olsen: chair, Compensation
Committee AppointmentBruce L. Claflin: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentHassan M. Ahmed: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentPatrick T. Gallagher: member, Compensation
Committee RecordGovernance and Nominations: Chair Patrick T. Gallagher; Members Patrick T. Gallagher (Chair); Hassan M. Ahmed; Joanne B. Olsen; Lawton W. Fitt
Committee AppointmentPatrick T. Gallagher: chair, Governance and Nominations
Committee AppointmentHassan M. Ahmed: member, Governance and Nominations
Committee AppointmentJoanne B. Olsen: member, Governance and Nominations
Committee AppointmentLawton W. Fitt: member, Governance and Nominations

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerGary B. Smith, President and Chief Executive Officer, from Dec 12, 2025
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingCIEN (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 16, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NYSE: CIENcurrentFeb 9, 2026inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameCIENA CORP
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.ciena.com
Published FactTechnology
Published Facthttps://www.ciena.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
14 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 16, 2026. Cited by 6 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    CIENA CORP Form 10-K (filed 2025-12-12). SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec proxy. Published Feb 12, 2026. Retrieved Mar 23, 2026. Cited by 7 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Dec 12, 2025. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Dec 12, 2025. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Dec 12, 2025. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    sec filing. Published Dec 12, 2025. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    sec filing. Published Dec 12, 2025. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    sec filing. Published Dec 12, 2025. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    CIEN executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    sec filing. Published Dec 12, 2025. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    sec filing. Published Dec 12, 2025. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  13. E13
    board_seats. board seats. Cited by 15 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  14. E14
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 16, 2026
  • Brodie Gage executive of Ciena, effective 2025-12-12.
  • David M. Rothenstein executive of Ciena, effective 2025-12-12.
  • Dino DiPerna executive of Ciena, effective 2025-12-12.
  • Gary B. Smith executive of Ciena, effective 2025-12-12.
  • Jason M. Phipps executive of Ciena, effective 2025-12-12.
  • Joe Cumello executive of Ciena, effective 2025-12-12.
  • Michael Graff executive of Ciena, effective 2025-12-12.
  • Sheela Kosaraju executive of Ciena, effective 2025-12-12.
  • Mary G. Puma seat on Ciena, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Hassan M. Ahmed seat on Ciena, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Governance and Nominations; Compensation committee of Ciena, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Hassan M. Ahmed member of Governance and Nominations; Compensation, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Joanne B. Olsen seat on Ciena, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Governance and Nominations; Compensation · Chair committee of Ciena, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Joanne B. Olsen member of Governance and Nominations; Compensation · Chair, effective 2018-01-01.
  • T. Michael Nevens seat on Ciena, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Patrick T. Gallagher seat on Ciena, effective 2009-01-01.
  • Governance and Nominations · Chair; Compensation committee of Ciena, effective 2009-01-01.
  • Patrick T. Gallagher member of Governance and Nominations · Chair; Compensation, effective 2009-01-01.
  • Bruce L. Claflin seat on Ciena, effective 2006-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation committee of Ciena, effective 2006-01-01.
  • Bruce L. Claflin member of Audit; Compensation, effective 2006-01-01.
  • Lawton W. Fitt seat on Ciena, effective 2000-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:3549bda4-5ac9-41bd-94a6-e819300825dd, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/ciena-corp

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:3549bda4-5ac9-41bd-94a6-e819300825dd
  • Cite this recordCiena
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/ciena-corp
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    CienaCompany
  • Brodie GagePerson
  • David M. RothensteinPerson
  • Dino DiPernaPerson
  • Gary B. SmithPerson
  • Jason M. PhippsPerson
  • Joe CumelloPerson
  • Michael GraffPerson
  • Sheela KosarajuPerson
  • Marc D. GraffPerson
  • Bruce L. ClaflinPerson
  • Hassan M. AhmedPerson
  • Joanne B. OlsenPerson
  • Lawton W. FittPerson
  • Mary G. PumaPerson
  • Patrick T. GallagherPerson
  • T. Michael NevensPerson
  • Dr. Amit KumarPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewCiena
  • MonitoringCiena
  • LeadershipCiena
  • BoardCiena
  • CommitteesCiena
  • Control and votingCiena
  • Authority to actCiena
  • FinancialsCiena
  • GovernanceCiena
  • RiskCiena
  • AI oversightCiena
  • LegalCiena
  • CompensationCiena
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.