Published mark

COMMERCE BANCSHARES INC

COMMERCE BANCSHARES INC /MO/

NASDAQ: CBSH. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:dea7cf9b-d38d-4a1a-9ab3-2b066f9c33d5
SEC CIK
0000022356
Website
www.commercebank.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 16, 2026
Newest evidence
May 12, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
John W. KemperPresident, Chief Executive Officer & Director
Chair
Not published
Independent
10 / 1212 directors published
Published claims
313 distinct sources
Evidence records
120 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 3 distinct sources and 12 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

DIRECTOR APPOINTED

Alaina G. Maciá seat on COMMERCE BANCSHARES INC, effective 2025-01-01.

EffectiveEffective Jan 1, 2025E2

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Executive Vice President & Chief Financial OfficerCharles G. KimNot capturedunknownSource reportedE3
Executive VP & Chief Information OfficerDavid L. RollerNot capturedunknownSource reportedE4
Senior Vice PresidentDouglas D. NeffNot capturedunknownSource reportedE5
Executive Vice PresidentJohn Koeneman HandyNot capturedunknownSource reportedE6
President, Chief Executive Officer & DirectorJohn W. KemperNot capturedunknownSource reportedE7
Executive Vice PresidentKevin Gene BarthNot capturedunknownSource reportedE8
Senior Vice President, General Counsel, Secretary & Executive Director of Corporate Risk ManagementMargaret RoweNot capturedunknownSource reportedE9
Controller & Chief Accounting OfficerPaul A. SteinerNot capturedunknownSource reportedE10
Executive Vice PresidentRobert S. HolmesNot capturedunknownSource reportedE11

Board of directors

Evidence

12 directors published. 10 of 12 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Alaina G. MaciáIndependent2025None publishedSource reportedE2
Benjamin F. Rassieur, IIIIndependent1997None publishedSource reportedE2
Blackford F. BrauerIndependent2022None publishedSource reportedE2
Christine B. TaylorIndependent2022Nominating and GovernanceSource reportedE2
David W. KemperNot independent1982None publishedSource reportedE2
J. Mariner KemperNot independent2015None publishedSource reportedE2
June McAllister FowlerIndependent2022None publishedSource reportedE2
Karen L. DanielIndependent2018Nominating and Governance, chairNominating and Governance · ChairSource reportedE2
Terry D. BasshamIndependent2013Nominating and GovernanceSource reportedE2
Timothy S. DunnIndependent2025None publishedSource reportedE2
Todd R. SchnuckIndependent2010Nominating and GovernanceSource reportedE2
W. Kyle ChapmanIndependent2022None publishedSource reportedE2

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
Nominating and GovernanceKaren L. DanielKaren L. Daniel, Christine B. Taylor, Terry D. Bassham, Todd R. SchnuckNot described in the published record
Nominating and Governance · ChairNot publishedKaren L. DanielNot described in the published record
Committee RecordNominating and Governance: Chair Karen L. Daniel; Members Karen L. Daniel (Chair); Christine B. Taylor; Terry D. Bassham; Todd R. Schnuck
Committee AppointmentKaren L. Daniel: chair, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentChristine B. Taylor: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentTerry D. Bassham: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentTodd R. Schnuck: member, Nominating and Governance

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerJohn W. Kemper, President, Chief Executive Officer & Director
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Security ListingCBSH (NASDAQ)
Index membershipsNo current membership is published in Alpha's tracked index universe.This is not evidence that the company is absent from every market index.
None publishedAs of Oct 17, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameCOMMERCE BANCSHARES INC /MO/
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Published FactFinancials

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Markets externalNot reviewed. Auditors, advisors, investors and regulators form the external ecosystem.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
12 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 16, 2026. Cited by 5 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    sec proxy. Published Mar 13, 2026. Retrieved May 12, 2026. Cited by 12 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    other. Published May 12, 2026. Retrieved May 12, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    other. Published May 12, 2026. Retrieved May 12, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    other. Published May 12, 2026. Retrieved May 12, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    other. Published May 12, 2026. Retrieved May 12, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    other. Published May 12, 2026. Retrieved May 12, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    other. Published May 12, 2026. Retrieved May 12, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    other. Published May 12, 2026. Retrieved May 12, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    other. Published May 12, 2026. Retrieved May 12, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    other. Published May 12, 2026. Retrieved May 12, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    board_seats. board seats. Cited by 5 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 16, 2026
  • Alaina G. Maciá seat on COMMERCE BANCSHARES INC, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Timothy S. Dunn seat on COMMERCE BANCSHARES INC, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Blackford F. Brauer seat on COMMERCE BANCSHARES INC, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Christine B. Taylor seat on COMMERCE BANCSHARES INC, effective 2022-01-01.
  • June McAllister Fowler seat on COMMERCE BANCSHARES INC, effective 2022-01-01.
  • W. Kyle Chapman seat on COMMERCE BANCSHARES INC, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Christine B. Taylor member of Nominating and Governance, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Karen L. Daniel seat on COMMERCE BANCSHARES INC, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Nominating and Governance · Chair committee of COMMERCE BANCSHARES INC, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Karen L. Daniel member of Nominating and Governance · Chair, effective 2018-01-01.
  • J. Mariner Kemper seat on COMMERCE BANCSHARES INC, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Terry D. Bassham seat on COMMERCE BANCSHARES INC, effective 2013-01-01.
  • Todd R. Schnuck seat on COMMERCE BANCSHARES INC, effective 2010-01-01.
  • Benjamin F. Rassieur, III seat on COMMERCE BANCSHARES INC, effective 1997-01-01.
  • David W. Kemper seat on COMMERCE BANCSHARES INC, effective 1982-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:dea7cf9b-d38d-4a1a-9ab3-2b066f9c33d5, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/commerce-bancshares-inc-mo

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:dea7cf9b-d38d-4a1a-9ab3-2b066f9c33d5
  • Cite this recordCOMMERCE BANCSHARES INC
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/commerce-bancshares-inc-mo
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    COMMERCE BANCSHARES INCCompany
  • Charles G. KimPerson
  • David L. RollerPerson
  • Douglas D. NeffPerson
  • John Koeneman HandyPerson
  • John W. KemperPerson
  • Kevin Gene BarthPerson
  • Margaret RowePerson
  • Paul A. SteinerPerson
  • Robert S. HolmesPerson
  • Alaina G. MaciáPerson
  • Benjamin F. Rassieur, IIIPerson
  • Blackford F. BrauerPerson
  • Christine B. TaylorPerson
  • David W. KemperPerson
  • J. Mariner KemperPerson
  • June McAllister FowlerPerson
  • Karen L. DanielPerson
  • Terry D. BasshamPerson
  • Timothy S. DunnPerson
  • Todd R. SchnuckPerson
  • W. Kyle ChapmanPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewCOMMERCE BANCSHARES INC
  • MonitoringCOMMERCE BANCSHARES INC
  • LeadershipCOMMERCE BANCSHARES INC
  • BoardCOMMERCE BANCSHARES INC
  • CommitteesCOMMERCE BANCSHARES INC
  • Control and votingCOMMERCE BANCSHARES INC
  • Authority to actCOMMERCE BANCSHARES INC
  • FinancialsCOMMERCE BANCSHARES INC
  • GovernanceCOMMERCE BANCSHARES INC
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.