Published mark

Essex Property Trust

ESSEX PROPERTY TRUST, INC.

NYSE: ESS. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:52440b7c-92a9-44cc-8853-f60aed3f6170
SEC CIK
0000920522
Website
www.essex.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 16, 2026
Newest evidence
Mar 27, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Angela KleimanChief Executive Officer and President
Chair
George M. MarcusLead independent: Isiah L. Thomas, III
Independent
8 / 99 directors published
Published claims
314 distinct sources
Evidence records
60 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 4 distinct sources and 6 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

DIRECTOR APPOINTED

Anne B. Gust seat on Essex Property Trust, effective 2024-01-01.

EffectiveEffective Jan 1, 2024E3

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Chief Executive Officer and PresidentAngela KleimanNot capturedunknownSource reportedE4
Chief Administrative Officer, General Counsel and Executive Vice PresidentAnne MorrisonNot capturedunknownSource reportedE4
Chief Financial Officer and Executive Vice PresidentBarb M. PakNot capturedunknownSource reportedE4
Chief Investment Officer and Executive Vice PresidentRylan K. BurnsNot capturedunknownSource reportedE4

Board of directors

Evidence

9 directors published. 8 of 9 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Amal M. JohnsonIndependent2018Compensation, chairCompensation · ChairSource reportedE3
Angela KleimanNot independent2022None publishedSource reportedE3
Anne B. GustIndependent2024None publishedSource reportedE3
George M. MarcusIndependentChair1994None publishedSource reportedE3
Isiah L. Thomas, IIIIndependentLead Independent2014CompensationCompensation; Nominating · ChairNominating, chairSource reportedE3
John V. ArabiaIndependent2024None publishedSource reportedE3
Keith R. GuerickeIndependentChair1994None publishedSource reportedE3
Maria R. HawthorneIndependent2020AuditAudit; CompensationCompensationSource reportedE3
Mary KasarisIndependent2018Audit, chairAudit · ChairSource reportedE3

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditMary KasarisMary Kasaris, Maria R. HawthorneNot described in the published record
Audit · ChairNot publishedMary KasarisNot described in the published record
Audit; CompensationNot publishedMaria R. HawthorneNot described in the published record
CompensationAmal M. JohnsonAmal M. Johnson, Isiah L. Thomas, III, Maria R. HawthorneNot described in the published record
Compensation · ChairNot publishedAmal M. JohnsonNot described in the published record
Compensation; Nominating · ChairNot publishedIsiah L. Thomas, IIINot described in the published record
NominatingIsiah L. Thomas, IIIIsiah L. Thomas, IIINot described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Mary Kasaris; Members Mary Kasaris (Chair); Maria R. Hawthorne
Committee AppointmentMary Kasaris: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentMaria R. Hawthorne: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation: Chair Amal M. Johnson; Members Amal M. Johnson (Chair); Isiah L. Thomas, III; Maria R. Hawthorne
Committee AppointmentAmal M. Johnson: chair, Compensation
Committee AppointmentIsiah L. Thomas, III: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentMaria R. Hawthorne: member, Compensation
Committee RecordNominating: Chair Isiah L. Thomas, III; Members Isiah L. Thomas, III (Chair)
Committee AppointmentIsiah L. Thomas, III: chair, Nominating

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerAngela Kleiman, Chief Executive Officer and President
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingESS (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 16, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NYSE: ESScurrentApr 2, 2014inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameESSEX PROPERTY TRUST, INC.
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.essex.com
Published FactReal Estate
Published Facthttps://www.essex.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
6 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 16, 2026. Cited by 6 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    ESSEX PROPERTY TRUST Form 10-K. SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec proxy. Published Mar 27, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 9 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec def 14a. Published Mar 27, 2026. Retrieved Sep 14, 2026. Cited by 4 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    board_seats. sp500-board-director-completeness-remediation-2026-05-15. Cited by 9 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 16, 2026
  • Anne B. Gust seat on Essex Property Trust, effective 2024-01-01.
  • John V. Arabia seat on Essex Property Trust, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Angela Kleiman seat on Essex Property Trust, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Maria R. Hawthorne seat on Essex Property Trust, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation committee of Essex Property Trust, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Maria R. Hawthorne member of Audit; Compensation, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Amal M. Johnson seat on Essex Property Trust, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Mary Kasaris seat on Essex Property Trust, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair committee of Essex Property Trust, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Mary Kasaris member of Audit · Chair, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Compensation · Chair committee of Essex Property Trust, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Amal M. Johnson member of Compensation · Chair, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Isiah L. Thomas, III seat on Essex Property Trust, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Isiah L. Thomas, III lead independent director of Essex Property Trust, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Compensation; Nominating · Chair committee of Essex Property Trust, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Isiah L. Thomas, III member of Compensation; Nominating · Chair, effective 2014-01-01.
  • George M. Marcus seat on Essex Property Trust, effective 1994-01-01.
  • George M. Marcus chairs board Essex Property Trust, effective 1994-01-01.
  • Keith R. Guericke seat on Essex Property Trust, effective 1994-01-01.
  • Keith R. Guericke chairs board Essex Property Trust, effective 1994-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:52440b7c-92a9-44cc-8853-f60aed3f6170, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/essex-property-trust-inc

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:52440b7c-92a9-44cc-8853-f60aed3f6170
  • Cite this recordEssex Property Trust
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/essex-property-trust-inc
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    Essex Property TrustCompany
  • Angela KleimanPerson
  • Anne MorrisonPerson
  • Barb M. PakPerson
  • Rylan K. BurnsPerson
  • Amal M. JohnsonPerson
  • Anne B. GustPerson
  • George M. MarcusPerson
  • Isiah L. Thomas, IIIPerson
  • John V. ArabiaPerson
  • Keith R. GuerickePerson
  • Maria R. HawthornePerson
  • Mary KasarisPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewEssex Property Trust
  • MonitoringEssex Property Trust
  • LeadershipEssex Property Trust
  • BoardEssex Property Trust
  • CommitteesEssex Property Trust
  • Control and votingEssex Property Trust
  • Authority to actEssex Property Trust
  • FinancialsEssex Property Trust
  • GovernanceEssex Property Trust
  • RiskEssex Property Trust
  • AI oversightEssex Property Trust
  • LegalEssex Property Trust
  • CompensationEssex Property Trust
  • Other published claimsEssex Property Trust
  • Coverage gapsEssex Property Trust
  • Linked peopleEssex Property Trust
  • Subject and correctionsEssex Property Trust
  • EvidenceEssex Property Trust
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.