Published mark

FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC

NYSE: BEN. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:fef6fd2b-3ea9-4981-a96e-1b64655fad4e
SEC CIK
38777
Website
www.franklinresources.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 15, 2026
Newest evidence
Dec 22, 2025
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Jennifer M. JohnsonSince Nov 10, 2025
Chair
Not published
Independent
8 / 1111 directors published
Published claims
434 distinct sources
Evidence records
100 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 4 distinct sources and 10 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

EXECUTIVE APPOINTED

Daniel Gamba executive of FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2025-11-10.

EffectiveEffective Nov 10, 2025E4

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Co-President and Chief Commercial OfficerDaniel GambaNov 2025currentSource reportedE4
Chief Executive OfficerJennifer M. JohnsonNov 2025currentSource reportedE5
Co-President, Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating OfficerMatthew NichollsNov 2025currentSource reportedE6
Co-PresidentTerrence J. MurphyNov 2025currentSource reportedE7
Executive Vice President and General CounselThomas C. MerchantNov 2025currentSource reportedE8

Board of directors

Evidence

11 directors published. 8 of 11 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Alexander S. FriedmanIndependent2021Audit, chairAudit · Chair; Corporate GovernanceCorporate GovernanceSource reportedE3
Anthony J. NotoIndependent2020AuditAudit; Corporate GovernanceCorporate GovernanceSource reportedE3
Geoffrey Y. YangIndependent2011CompensationCompensation; Corporate Governance · ChairCorporate Governance, chairSource reportedE3
Gregory E. JohnsonNot independent2007None publishedSource reportedE3
Jennifer M. JohnsonNot independent2020None publishedSource reportedE3
John W. ThielIndependent2021AuditAudit; CompensationCompensationSource reportedE3
John Y. KimIndependent2021CompensationCompensation; Corporate GovernanceCorporate GovernanceSource reportedE3
Kelly S. KingIndependent2021AuditAudit; CompensationCompensationSource reportedE3
Mariann ByerwalterIndependent2015AuditAudit; Corporate GovernanceCorporate GovernanceSource reportedE3
Rupert H. Johnson, Jr.Not independent1971None publishedSource reportedE3
Seth WaughIndependent2015Compensation, chairCompensation · ChairSource reportedE3

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditAlexander S. FriedmanAlexander S. Friedman, Anthony J. Noto, John W. Thiel, Kelly S. King, Mariann ByerwalterNot described in the published record
Audit · Chair; Corporate GovernanceNot publishedAlexander S. FriedmanNot described in the published record
Audit; CompensationNot publishedJohn W. Thiel, Kelly S. KingNot described in the published record
Audit; Corporate GovernanceNot publishedAnthony J. Noto, Mariann ByerwalterNot described in the published record
CompensationSeth WaughSeth Waugh, Geoffrey Y. Yang, John W. Thiel, John Y. Kim, Kelly S. KingNot described in the published record
Compensation · ChairNot publishedSeth WaughNot described in the published record
Compensation; Corporate GovernanceNot publishedJohn Y. KimNot described in the published record
Compensation; Corporate Governance · ChairNot publishedGeoffrey Y. YangNot described in the published record
Corporate GovernanceGeoffrey Y. YangGeoffrey Y. Yang, Alexander S. Friedman, Anthony J. Noto, John Y. Kim, Mariann ByerwalterNot described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Alexander S. Friedman; Members Alexander S. Friedman (Chair); Anthony J. Noto; John W. Thiel; Kelly S. King; Mariann Byerwalter
Committee AppointmentAlexander S. Friedman: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentAnthony J. Noto: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentJohn W. Thiel: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentKelly S. King: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentMariann Byerwalter: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation: Chair Seth Waugh; Members Seth Waugh (Chair); Geoffrey Y. Yang; John W. Thiel; John Y. Kim; Kelly S. King
Committee AppointmentSeth Waugh: chair, Compensation
Committee AppointmentGeoffrey Y. Yang: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentJohn W. Thiel: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentJohn Y. Kim: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentKelly S. King: member, Compensation
Committee RecordCorporate Governance: Chair Geoffrey Y. Yang; Members Geoffrey Y. Yang (Chair); Alexander S. Friedman; Anthony J. Noto; John Y. Kim; Mariann Byerwalter
Committee AppointmentGeoffrey Y. Yang: chair, Corporate Governance
Committee AppointmentAlexander S. Friedman: member, Corporate Governance
Committee AppointmentAnthony J. Noto: member, Corporate Governance
Committee AppointmentJohn Y. Kim: member, Corporate Governance
Committee AppointmentMariann Byerwalter: member, Corporate Governance

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerJennifer M. Johnson, Chief Executive Officer, from Nov 10, 2025
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingBEN (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 15, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NYSE: BENcurrentApr 30, 1998inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameFRANKLIN RESOURCES INC
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.franklinresources.com
Published FactFinancials
Published Facthttps://www.franklinresources.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
10 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 15, 2026. Cited by 6 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC Form 10-K (filed 2025-11-10). SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec proxy. Published Dec 22, 2025. Retrieved Mar 23, 2026. Cited by 11 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Nov 10, 2025. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Nov 10, 2025. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Nov 10, 2025. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    sec filing. Published Nov 10, 2025. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    sec filing. Published Nov 10, 2025. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    board_seats. board seats. Cited by 18 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 15, 2026
  • Daniel Gamba executive of FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2025-11-10.
  • Jennifer M. Johnson executive of FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2025-11-10.
  • Matthew Nicholls executive of FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2025-11-10.
  • Terrence J. Murphy executive of FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2025-11-10.
  • Thomas C. Merchant executive of FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2025-11-10.
  • Alexander S. Friedman seat on FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2021-01-01.
  • John W. Thiel seat on FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2021-01-01.
  • John Y. Kim seat on FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Kelly S. King seat on FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair; Corporate Governance committee of FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Alexander S. Friedman member of Audit · Chair; Corporate Governance, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation committee of FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2021-01-01.
  • John W. Thiel member of Audit; Compensation, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Kelly S. King member of Audit; Compensation, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Compensation; Corporate Governance committee of FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2021-01-01.
  • John Y. Kim member of Compensation; Corporate Governance, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Anthony J. Noto seat on FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Jennifer M. Johnson seat on FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Audit; Corporate Governance committee of FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Anthony J. Noto member of Audit; Corporate Governance, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Mariann Byerwalter seat on FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Seth Waugh seat on FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Mariann Byerwalter member of Audit; Corporate Governance, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Compensation · Chair committee of FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Seth Waugh member of Compensation · Chair, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Geoffrey Y. Yang seat on FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2011-01-01.
  • Compensation; Corporate Governance · Chair committee of FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2011-01-01.
  • Geoffrey Y. Yang member of Compensation; Corporate Governance · Chair, effective 2011-01-01.
  • Gregory E. Johnson seat on FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 2007-01-01.
  • Rupert H. Johnson, Jr. seat on FRANKLIN RESOURCES INC, effective 1971-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:fef6fd2b-3ea9-4981-a96e-1b64655fad4e, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/franklin-resources-inc

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:fef6fd2b-3ea9-4981-a96e-1b64655fad4e
  • Cite this recordFRANKLIN RESOURCES INC
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/franklin-resources-inc
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    FRANKLIN RESOURCES INCCompany
  • Daniel GambaPerson
  • Jennifer M. JohnsonPerson
  • Matthew NichollsPerson
  • Terrence J. MurphyPerson
  • Thomas C. MerchantPerson
  • Alexander S. FriedmanPerson
  • Anthony J. NotoPerson
  • Geoffrey Y. YangPerson
  • Gregory E. JohnsonPerson
  • John W. ThielPerson
  • John Y. KimPerson
  • Kelly S. KingPerson
  • Mariann ByerwalterPerson
  • Rupert H. Johnson, Jr.Person
  • Seth WaughPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewFRANKLIN RESOURCES INC
  • MonitoringFRANKLIN RESOURCES INC
  • LeadershipFRANKLIN RESOURCES INC
  • BoardFRANKLIN RESOURCES INC
  • CommitteesFRANKLIN RESOURCES INC
  • Control and votingFRANKLIN RESOURCES INC
  • Authority to actFRANKLIN RESOURCES INC
  • FinancialsFRANKLIN RESOURCES INC
  • GovernanceFRANKLIN RESOURCES INC
  • RiskFRANKLIN RESOURCES INC
  • AI oversightFRANKLIN RESOURCES INC
  • LegalFRANKLIN RESOURCES INC
  • CompensationFRANKLIN RESOURCES INC
  • Other published claimsFRANKLIN RESOURCES INC
  • Coverage gapsFRANKLIN RESOURCES INC
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.