Published mark

Hartford (The)

HARTFORD INSURANCE GROUP, INC.

NYSE: HIG. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:0b5addc9-e2e8-42e8-9456-bf462d1d0cc6
SEC CIK
0000874766
Website
www.thehartford.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 15, 2026
Newest evidence
Sep 30, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Christopher J. SwiftSince Jul 1, 2014
Chair
Christopher J. SwiftLead independent: Trevor Fetter
Independent
1 / 112 directors published
Published claims
456 distinct sources
Evidence records
180 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 6 distinct sources and 18 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

DIRECTOR APPOINTED

Adin Morris Tooker seat on Hartford (The), effective 2026-10-01.

EffectiveEffective Oct 1, 2026E4

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Corporate SecretaryTerence ShieldsApr 2026currentSource reportedE16
PresidentAdin Morris TookerNot capturedunknownSource reportedE15
Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer; President of HIMCOAmy StepnowskiNot capturedunknownSource reportedE15
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial OfficerBeth CostelloNot capturedunknownSource reportedE15
Chairman and Chief Executive OfficerChristopher J. SwiftJul 2014unknownSource reportedE15
Executive Vice President and General CounselDonald HuntNot capturedunknownSource reportedE15

Board of directors

Evidence

12 directors published. 1 of 1 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Adin Morris TookerIndependence not published2026None publishedSource reportedE4
Annette RippertIndependence not published2025None publishedSource reportedE5
Carlos DominguezIndependence not published2018Compensation and Management DevelopmentCompensation and Management Development; Nominating and Corporate GovernanceNominating and Corporate GovernanceSource reportedE6
Christopher J. SwiftIndependence not publishedChair2014None publishedSource reportedE3
Donna JamesIndependence not published2021None publishedSource reportedE7
Kathleen WintersIndependence not published2024AuditSource reportedE8
Larry D. De ShonIndependence not published2020AuditAudit; Nominating and Corporate GovernanceNominating and Corporate GovernanceSource reportedE9
Matthew E. WinterIndependence not published2020Compensation and Management Development, chairCompensation and Management Development · ChairSource reportedE10
Teresa W. RoseboroughIndependence not published2015None publishedSource reportedE11
Thomas A. BartlettIndependence not published2026None publishedSource reportedE12
Trevor FetterIndependence not publishedLead Independent2007Compensation and Management DevelopmentSource reportedE13
Virginia P. RuesterholzIndependent2013Compensation and Management DevelopmentCompensation and Management Development; Nominating and Corporate GovernanceNominating and Corporate GovernanceSource reportedE14
Annette P. RippertIndependence not publishedNot publishedAuditSource reportedE17
Donna A. JamesIndependence not publishedNot publishedAudit, chairNominating and Corporate GovernanceSource reportedE17
Teresa Wynn RoseboroughIndependence not publishedNot publishedCompensation and Management DevelopmentNominating and Corporate Governance, chairSource reportedE17

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditDonna A. JamesDonna A. James, Annette P. Rippert, Kathleen Winters, Larry D. De ShonNot described in the published record
Audit; Nominating and Corporate GovernanceNot publishedLarry D. De ShonNot described in the published record
Compensation and Management DevelopmentMatthew E. WinterMatthew E. Winter, Carlos Dominguez, Teresa Wynn Roseborough, Trevor Fetter, Virginia P. RuesterholzNot described in the published record
Compensation and Management Development · ChairNot publishedMatthew E. WinterNot described in the published record
Compensation and Management Development; Nominating and Corporate GovernanceNot publishedCarlos Dominguez, Virginia P. RuesterholzNot described in the published record
Nominating and Corporate GovernanceTeresa Wynn RoseboroughTeresa Wynn Roseborough, Carlos Dominguez, Donna A. James, Larry D. De Shon, Virginia P. RuesterholzNot described in the published record
Committee AppointmentDonna A. James: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentAnnette P. Rippert: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentKathleen Winters: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentLarry D. De Shon: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentMatthew E. Winter: chair, Compensation and Management Development
Committee AppointmentCarlos Dominguez: member, Compensation and Management Development
Committee AppointmentTeresa Wynn Roseborough: member, Compensation and Management Development
Committee AppointmentTrevor Fetter: member, Compensation and Management Development
Committee AppointmentVirginia P. Ruesterholz: member, Compensation and Management Development
Committee RecordNominating and Corporate Governance: Chair Teresa Wynn Roseborough; Members Teresa Wynn Roseborough (Chair); Carlos Dominguez; Donna A. James; Larry D. De Shon; Virginia P. Ruesterholz
Committee AppointmentTeresa Wynn Roseborough: chair, Nominating and Corporate Governance
Committee AppointmentCarlos Dominguez: member, Nominating and Corporate Governance
Committee AppointmentDonna A. James: member, Nominating and Corporate Governance
Committee AppointmentLarry D. De Shon: member, Nominating and Corporate Governance
Committee AppointmentVirginia P. Ruesterholz: member, Nominating and Corporate Governance

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerChristopher J. Swift, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, from Jul 1, 2014
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingHIG (NYSE)
Security ListingHIG-PG (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 15, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)HIG-PGcurrentMar 4, 1957inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameHARTFORD INSURANCE GROUP, INC.
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.thehartford.com
Published FactFinancials
Published Facthttps://www.thehartford.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
18 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 15, 2026. Cited by 7 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    HARTFORD FINANCIAL Form 10-K. SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec filing. Published Apr 10, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Sep 30, 2026. Retrieved Sep 30, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Apr 10, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Apr 10, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    sec filing. Published Apr 10, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    sec filing. Published Apr 10, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    sec filing. Published Apr 10, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    sec filing. Published Apr 10, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    sec filing. Published Apr 10, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    sec filing. Published Apr 9, 2026. Retrieved May 16, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  13. E13
    sec filing. Published Apr 10, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  14. E14
    sec proxy. Published Apr 9, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  15. E15
    sec def 14a. Published Apr 9, 2026. Retrieved Sep 14, 2026. Cited by 5 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  16. E16
    sec filing. Published Apr 9, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  17. E17
    board_seats. sp500-board-director-completeness-remediation-2026-05-15. Cited by 17 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  18. E18
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 15, 2026
  • Adin Morris Tooker seat on Hartford (The), effective 2026-10-01.
  • Thomas A. Bartlett seat on Hartford (The), effective 2026-04-09.
  • Terence Shields executive of Hartford (The), effective 2026-04-09.
  • Annette Rippert seat on Hartford (The), effective 2025-01-01.
  • Kathleen Winters seat on Hartford (The), effective 2024-01-01.
  • Donna James seat on Hartford (The), effective 2021-01-01.
  • Larry D. De Shon seat on Hartford (The), effective 2020-01-01.
  • Matthew E. Winter seat on Hartford (The), effective 2020-01-01.
  • Audit; Nominating and Corporate Governance committee of Hartford (The), effective 2020-01-01.
  • Larry D. De Shon member of Audit; Nominating and Corporate Governance, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Compensation and Management Development · Chair committee of Hartford (The), effective 2020-01-01.
  • Matthew E. Winter member of Compensation and Management Development · Chair, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Carlos Dominguez seat on Hartford (The), effective 2018-01-01.
  • Compensation and Management Development; Nominating and Corporate Governance committee of Hartford (The), effective 2018-01-01.
  • Carlos Dominguez member of Compensation and Management Development; Nominating and Corporate Governance, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Teresa W. Roseborough seat on Hartford (The), effective 2015-01-01.
  • Christopher J. Swift executive of Hartford (The), effective 2014-07-01.
  • Christopher J. Swift seat on Hartford (The), effective 2014-01-01.
  • Christopher J. Swift chairs board Hartford (The), effective 2014-01-01.
  • Virginia P. Ruesterholz seat on Hartford (The), effective 2013-01-01.
  • Virginia P. Ruesterholz member of Compensation and Management Development; Nominating and Corporate Governance, effective 2013-01-01.
  • Trevor Fetter seat on Hartford (The), effective 2007-01-01.
  • Trevor Fetter lead independent director of Hartford (The), effective 2007-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:0b5addc9-e2e8-42e8-9456-bf462d1d0cc6, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/hartford-insurance-group-inc

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:0b5addc9-e2e8-42e8-9456-bf462d1d0cc6
  • Cite this recordHartford (The)
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/hartford-insurance-group-inc
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    Hartford (The)Company
  • Terence ShieldsPerson
  • Adin Morris TookerPerson
  • Amy StepnowskiPerson
  • Beth CostelloPerson
  • Christopher J. SwiftPerson
  • Donald HuntPerson
  • Annette RippertPerson
  • Carlos DominguezPerson
  • Donna JamesPerson
  • Kathleen WintersPerson
  • Larry D. De ShonPerson
  • Matthew E. WinterPerson
  • Teresa W. RoseboroughPerson
  • Thomas A. BartlettPerson
  • Trevor FetterPerson
  • Virginia P. RuesterholzPerson
  • Annette P. RippertPerson
  • Donna A. JamesPerson
  • Teresa Wynn RoseboroughPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewHartford (The)
  • MonitoringHartford (The)
  • LeadershipHartford (The)
  • BoardHartford (The)
  • CommitteesHartford (The)
  • Control and votingHartford (The)
  • Authority to actHartford (The)
  • FinancialsHartford (The)
  • GovernanceHartford (The)
  • RiskHartford (The)
  • AI oversightHartford (The)
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.