Published mark

JPMorgan Chase

JPMORGAN CHASE & CO

NYSE: AMJB. JPMorgan Chase & Co. operates as a bank and financial holding company in the United States, rest of North America, Europe, the Middle East, Africa, the Asia Pacific, Latin America, and the Caribbean.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:4f3ba4cd-8783-4b35-935d-02831e302978
SEC CIK
0000019617
Website
www.jpmorganchase.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 15, 2026
Newest evidence
Apr 6, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Douglas B. PetnoSince Feb 13, 2026
Chair
James DimonLead independent: Stephen B. Burke
Independent
Not published11 directors published
Published claims
796 distinct sources
Evidence records
220 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 6 distinct sources and 22 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

DIRECTOR APPOINTED

Mark A. Weinberger seat on JPMorgan Chase, effective 2026-04-06.

EffectiveEffective Apr 6, 2026E8

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Chief Risk OfficerAshley BaconFeb 2026currentSource reportedE14
Co-Chief Executive Officer of the Commercial Investment BankDouglas B. PetnoFeb 2026currentSource reportedE16
Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive OfficerJames DimonFeb 2026currentSource reportedE17
Chief Financial OfficerJeremy BarnumFeb 2026currentSource reportedE18
Chief Executive Officer of Consumer Community BankingMarianne LakeFeb 2026currentSource reportedE19
General CounselStacey FriedmanFeb 2026currentSource reportedE20
Co-President of JPMorganChase & CEO of Commercial & Investment BankDoug PetnoNot capturedunknownSource reportedE15
ControllerElena KorablinaNot capturedunknownSource reportedE15
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, JPMorganChaseJamie DimonNot capturedunknownSource reportedE15
Chief Operating Officer of JPMorganChaseJennifer PiepszakNot capturedunknownSource reportedE15
Global Chief Information OfficerLori BeerNot capturedunknownSource reportedE15
CEO, Asset & Wealth ManagementMary Callahan ErdoesNot capturedunknownSource reportedE15
SecretaryReid BrodaNot capturedunknownSource reportedE15
Chief Data & Analytics OfficerTeresa HeitsenretherNot capturedunknownSource reportedE15
Co-President of JPMorganChase and CEO of Consumer & Community BankingTroy RohrbaughNot capturedunknownSource reportedE15

Board of directors

Evidence

11 directors published. Independence determinations are not published for every director.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Alex GorskyIndependence not published2022AuditAudit; GovernanceGovernanceSource reportedE4
Alicia Boler DavisIndependence not published2023ESGPublic ResponsibilityRiskRisk; Public Responsibility; ESGSource reportedE5
Brad D. SmithIndependence not published2025ESGPublic ResponsibilityRiskRisk; Public Responsibility; ESGSource reportedE6
James DimonIndependence not publishedChair2004None publishedSource reportedE3
Linda B. BammannIndependence not published2013CMDCCMDC; Risk · Chair; CompensationCompensationRisk, chairSource reportedE7
Mark A. WeinbergerIndependence not published2026Audit, chairAudit · ChairSource reportedE8
Mellody HobsonIndependence not published2018ESG, chairPublic ResponsibilityRiskRisk; Public Responsibility; ESG · ChairSource reportedE9
Michele G. BuckIndependence not published2025AuditAudit; GovernanceGovernanceSource reportedE10
Phebe N. NovakovicIndependence not published2020AuditAudit; Public Responsibility; ESGESGPublic ResponsibilitySource reportedE11
Stephen B. BurkeIndependence not publishedLead Independent2004CMDCCMDC; Governance; Compensation · ChairCompensation, chairGovernanceSource reportedE12
Virginia M. RomettyIndependence not published2020CMDCCMDC; Governance · Chair; CompensationCompensationGovernance, chairSource reportedE13

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditMark A. WeinbergerMark A. Weinberger, Alex Gorsky, Michele G. Buck, Phebe N. NovakovicNot described in the published record
Audit · ChairNot publishedMark A. WeinbergerNot described in the published record
Audit; GovernanceNot publishedAlex Gorsky, Michele G. BuckNot described in the published record
Audit; Public Responsibility; ESGNot publishedPhebe N. NovakovicNot described in the published record
CMDCNot publishedLinda B. Bammann, Stephen B. Burke, Virginia M. RomettyNot described in the published record
CMDC; Governance · Chair; CompensationNot publishedVirginia M. RomettyNot described in the published record
CMDC; Governance; Compensation · ChairNot publishedStephen B. BurkeNot described in the published record
CMDC; Risk · Chair; CompensationNot publishedLinda B. BammannNot described in the published record
CompensationStephen B. BurkeStephen B. Burke, Linda B. Bammann, Virginia M. RomettyNot described in the published record
ESGMellody HobsonMellody Hobson, Alicia Boler Davis, Brad D. Smith, Phebe N. NovakovicNot described in the published record
GovernanceVirginia M. RomettyVirginia M. Rometty, Alex Gorsky, Michele G. Buck, Stephen B. BurkeNot described in the published record
Public ResponsibilityNot publishedAlicia Boler Davis, Brad D. Smith, Mellody Hobson, Phebe N. NovakovicNot described in the published record
RiskLinda B. BammannLinda B. Bammann, Alicia Boler Davis, Brad D. Smith, Mellody HobsonNot described in the published record
Risk; Public Responsibility; ESGNot publishedAlicia Boler Davis, Brad D. SmithNot described in the published record
Risk; Public Responsibility; ESG · ChairNot publishedMellody HobsonNot described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Mark A. Weinberger; Members Mark A. Weinberger (Chair); Alex Gorsky; Michele G. Buck; Phebe N. Novakovic
Committee AppointmentMark A. Weinberger: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentAlex Gorsky: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentMichele G. Buck: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentPhebe N. Novakovic: member, Audit
Committee RecordCMDC: Chair not stated; Members Linda B. Bammann; Stephen B. Burke; Virginia M. Rometty
Committee AppointmentLinda B. Bammann: member, CMDC
Committee AppointmentStephen B. Burke: member, CMDC
Committee AppointmentVirginia M. Rometty: member, CMDC
Committee RecordCompensation: Chair Stephen B. Burke; Members Stephen B. Burke (Chair); Linda B. Bammann; Virginia M. Rometty
Committee AppointmentStephen B. Burke: chair, Compensation
Committee AppointmentLinda B. Bammann: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentVirginia M. Rometty: member, Compensation
Committee RecordESG: Chair Mellody Hobson; Members Mellody Hobson (Chair); Alicia Boler Davis; Brad D. Smith; Phebe N. Novakovic
Committee AppointmentMellody Hobson: chair, ESG
Committee AppointmentAlicia Boler Davis: member, ESG
Committee AppointmentBrad D. Smith: member, ESG
Committee AppointmentPhebe N. Novakovic: member, ESG
Committee RecordGovernance: Chair Virginia M. Rometty; Members Virginia M. Rometty (Chair); Alex Gorsky; Michele G. Buck; Stephen B. Burke
Committee AppointmentVirginia M. Rometty: chair, Governance
Committee AppointmentAlex Gorsky: member, Governance
Committee AppointmentMichele G. Buck: member, Governance
Committee AppointmentStephen B. Burke: member, Governance
Committee RecordPublic Responsibility: Chair not stated; Members Alicia Boler Davis; Brad D. Smith; Mellody Hobson; Phebe N. Novakovic
Committee AppointmentAlicia Boler Davis: member, Public Responsibility
Committee AppointmentBrad D. Smith: member, Public Responsibility
Committee AppointmentMellody Hobson: member, Public Responsibility
Committee AppointmentPhebe N. Novakovic: member, Public Responsibility
Committee RecordRisk: Chair Linda B. Bammann; Members Linda B. Bammann (Chair); Alicia Boler Davis; Brad D. Smith; Mellody Hobson
Committee AppointmentLinda B. Bammann: chair, Risk
Committee AppointmentAlicia Boler Davis: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentBrad D. Smith: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentMellody Hobson: member, Risk

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerDouglas B. Petno, Co-Chief Executive Officer of the Commercial Investment Bank, from Feb 13, 2026
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingAMJB (NYSE)
Security ListingJPM (NYSE)
Security ListingJPM-PC (NYSE)
Security ListingJPM-PD (NYSE)
Security ListingJPM-PJ (NYSE)
Security ListingJPM-PK (NYSE)
Security ListingJPM-PL (NYSE)
Security ListingJPM-PM (NYSE)
Security ListingVYLD (NYSE)
Security ListingAMJB (NYSE ARCA)
Security ListingVYLD (NYSE ARCA)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 16, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)VYLDcurrentJun 30, 1975inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameJPMORGAN CHASE & CO
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.jpmorganchase.com
Published FactFinancials
Published FactBanks - Diversified
Published Facthttps://www.jpmorganchase.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
22 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 15, 2026. Cited by 17 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    JPMORGAN CHASE & CO Form 10-K (filed 2026-02-13). SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec filing. Published Apr 7, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Apr 7, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Apr 7, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Apr 7, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    sec filing. Published Apr 7, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    sec filing. Published Apr 6, 2026. Retrieved May 16, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    sec filing. Published Apr 7, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    sec filing. Published Apr 7, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    sec filing. Published Apr 7, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    sec filing. Published Apr 7, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  13. E13
    sec filing. Published Apr 7, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  14. E14
    sec filing. Published Feb 13, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  15. E15
    leadership page. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 9 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  16. E16
    sec filing. Published Feb 13, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  17. E17
    sec filing. Published Feb 13, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  18. E18
    sec filing. Published Feb 13, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  19. E19
    sec filing. Published Feb 13, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  20. E20
    sec filing. Published Feb 13, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  21. E21
    board_seats. sp500-board-director-completeness-remediation-2026-05-15. Cited by 33 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  22. E22
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 15, 2026
  • Mark A. Weinberger seat on JPMorgan Chase, effective 2026-04-06.
  • Audit · Chair committee of JPMorgan Chase, effective 2026-04-06.
  • Mark A. Weinberger member of Audit · Chair, effective 2026-04-06.
  • Ashley Bacon executive of JPMorgan Chase, effective 2026-02-13.
  • Douglas B. Petno executive of JPMorgan Chase, effective 2026-02-13.
  • James Dimon executive of JPMorgan Chase, effective 2026-02-13.
  • Jeremy Barnum executive of JPMorgan Chase, effective 2026-02-13.
  • Marianne Lake executive of JPMorgan Chase, effective 2026-02-13.
  • Stacey Friedman executive of JPMorgan Chase, effective 2026-02-13.
  • Brad D. Smith seat on JPMorgan Chase, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Michele G. Buck seat on JPMorgan Chase, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Michele G. Buck member of Audit; Governance, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Brad D. Smith member of Risk; Public Responsibility; ESG, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Alicia Boler Davis seat on JPMorgan Chase, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Risk; Public Responsibility; ESG committee of JPMorgan Chase, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Alicia Boler Davis member of Risk; Public Responsibility; ESG, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Alex Gorsky seat on JPMorgan Chase, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Audit; Governance committee of JPMorgan Chase, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Alex Gorsky member of Audit; Governance, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Phebe N. Novakovic seat on JPMorgan Chase, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Virginia M. Rometty seat on JPMorgan Chase, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Audit; Public Responsibility; ESG committee of JPMorgan Chase, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Phebe N. Novakovic member of Audit; Public Responsibility; ESG, effective 2020-01-01.
  • CMDC; Governance · Chair; Compensation committee of JPMorgan Chase, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Virginia M. Rometty member of CMDC; Governance · Chair; Compensation, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Mellody Hobson seat on JPMorgan Chase, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Risk; Public Responsibility; ESG · Chair committee of JPMorgan Chase, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Mellody Hobson member of Risk; Public Responsibility; ESG · Chair, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Linda B. Bammann seat on JPMorgan Chase, effective 2013-01-01.
  • CMDC; Risk · Chair; Compensation committee of JPMorgan Chase, effective 2013-01-01.
  • Linda B. Bammann member of CMDC; Risk · Chair; Compensation, effective 2013-01-01.
  • James Dimon seat on JPMorgan Chase, effective 2004-01-01.
  • James Dimon chairs board JPMorgan Chase, effective 2004-01-01.
  • Stephen B. Burke seat on JPMorgan Chase, effective 2004-01-01.
  • Stephen B. Burke lead independent director of JPMorgan Chase, effective 2004-01-01.
  • CMDC; Governance; Compensation · Chair committee of JPMorgan Chase, effective 2004-01-01.
  • Stephen B. Burke member of CMDC; Governance; Compensation · Chair, effective 2004-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:4f3ba4cd-8783-4b35-935d-02831e302978, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/jpmorgan-chase-co

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:4f3ba4cd-8783-4b35-935d-02831e302978
  • Cite this recordJPMorgan Chase
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/jpmorgan-chase-co
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    JPMorgan ChaseCompany
  • Ashley BaconPerson
  • Douglas B. PetnoPerson
  • James DimonPerson
  • Jeremy BarnumPerson
  • Marianne LakePerson
  • Stacey FriedmanPerson
  • Doug PetnoPerson
  • Elena KorablinaPerson
  • Jamie DimonPerson
  • Jennifer PiepszakPerson
  • Lori BeerPerson
  • Mary Callahan ErdoesPerson
  • Reid BrodaPerson
  • Teresa HeitsenretherPerson
  • Troy RohrbaughPerson
  • Alex GorskyPerson
  • Alicia Boler DavisPerson
  • Brad D. SmithPerson
  • Linda B. BammannPerson
  • Mark A. WeinbergerPerson
  • Mellody HobsonPerson
  • Michele G. BuckPerson
  • Phebe N. NovakovicPerson
  • Stephen B. BurkePerson
  • Virginia M. RomettyPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewJPMorgan Chase
  • MonitoringJPMorgan Chase
  • LeadershipJPMorgan Chase
  • BoardJPMorgan Chase
  • CommitteesJPMorgan Chase
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.