Published mark

Marathon Petroleum

Marathon Petroleum Corp

NYSE: MPC. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:5e3c9e8f-c082-4cf5-b115-a05132998fc3
SEC CIK
0001510295
Website
www.marathonpetroleum.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 15, 2026
Newest evidence
May 3, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Maryann T. MannenSince Feb 26, 2026
Chair
Not published
Independent
Not published9 directors published
Published claims
485 distinct sources
Evidence records
190 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 5 distinct sources and 19 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

EXECUTIVE APPOINTED

Erin M. Brzezinski executive of Marathon Petroleum, effective 2026-02-26.

EffectiveEffective Feb 26, 2026E14

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Vice President and ControllerErin M. BrzezinskiFeb 2026currentSource reportedE14
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial OfficerMaria A. KhouryFeb 2026currentSource reportedE16
Chairman of the Board, President and Chief Executive OfficerMaryann T. MannenFeb 2026currentSource reportedE17
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial OfficerJohn J. QuaidNot capturedunknownSource reportedE15

Board of directors

Evidence

9 directors published. Independence determinations are not published for every director.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Abdulaziz F. AlkhayyalIndependence not published2016Compensation and Organization DevelopmentCompensation and Organization Development; Sustainability and Public PolicySustainability and Public PolicySource reportedE3
Eileen P. PatersonIndependence not published2024Compensation and Organization DevelopmentCompensation and Organization Development; Sustainability and Public PolicySustainability and Public PolicySource reportedE4
Evan BayhIndependence not published2011Corporate Governance and NominatingCorporate Governance and Nominating; Sustainability and Public Policy · ChairSustainability and Public Policy, chairSource reportedE5
Frank M. SempleIndependence not published2021AuditAudit; Compensation and Organization DevelopmentCompensation and Organization DevelopmentSource reportedE6
Jeffrey C. CampbellIndependence not published2024Audit, chairAudit · Chair; Compensation and Organization DevelopmentCompensation and Organization DevelopmentSource reportedE8
John P. SurmaIndependence not published2011AuditAudit; Corporate Governance and NominatingCorporate Governance and NominatingSource reportedE9
Jonathan Z. CohenIndependence not published2019AuditAudit; Corporate Governance and NominatingCorporate Governance and NominatingSource reportedE10
Kimberly N. Ellison-TaylorIndependence not published2024AuditAudit; Corporate Governance and NominatingCorporate Governance and NominatingSource reportedE12
Maryann T. MannenIndependence not published2024None publishedSource reportedE13
J. Michael SticeIndependence not publishedNot publishedCorporate Governance and Nominating, chairCorporate Governance and Nominating · Chair; Sustainability and Public PolicySustainability and Public PolicySource reportedE7
Kim K.W. RuckerIndependence not publishedNot publishedAuditAudit; Compensation and Organization Development · ChairCompensation and Organization Development, chairSource reportedE11

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditJeffrey C. CampbellJeffrey C. Campbell, Frank M. Semple, John P. Surma, Jonathan Z. Cohen, Kim K.W. Rucker, Kimberly N. Ellison-TaylorNot described in the published record
Audit · Chair; Compensation and Organization DevelopmentNot publishedJeffrey C. CampbellNot described in the published record
Audit; Compensation and Organization DevelopmentNot publishedFrank M. SempleNot described in the published record
Audit; Compensation and Organization Development · ChairNot publishedKim K.W. RuckerNot described in the published record
Audit; Corporate Governance and NominatingNot publishedJohn P. Surma, Jonathan Z. Cohen, Kimberly N. Ellison-TaylorNot described in the published record
Compensation and Organization DevelopmentKim K.W. RuckerKim K.W. Rucker, Abdulaziz F. Alkhayyal, Eileen P. Paterson, Frank M. Semple, Jeffrey C. CampbellNot described in the published record
Compensation and Organization Development; Sustainability and Public PolicyNot publishedAbdulaziz F. Alkhayyal, Eileen P. PatersonNot described in the published record
Corporate Governance and NominatingJ. Michael SticeJ. Michael Stice, Evan Bayh, John P. Surma, Jonathan Z. Cohen, Kimberly N. Ellison-TaylorNot described in the published record
Corporate Governance and Nominating · Chair; Sustainability and Public PolicyNot publishedJ. Michael SticeNot described in the published record
Corporate Governance and Nominating; Sustainability and Public Policy · ChairNot publishedEvan BayhNot described in the published record
Sustainability and Public PolicyEvan BayhEvan Bayh, Abdulaziz F. Alkhayyal, Eileen P. Paterson, J. Michael SticeNot described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Jeffrey C. Campbell; Members Jeffrey C. Campbell (Chair); Frank M. Semple; John P. Surma; Jonathan Z. Cohen; Kim K.W. Rucker; Kimberly N. Ellison-Taylor
Committee AppointmentJeffrey C. Campbell: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentFrank M. Semple: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentJohn P. Surma: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentJonathan Z. Cohen: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentKim K.W. Rucker: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentKimberly N. Ellison-Taylor: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation and Organization Development: Chair Kim K.W. Rucker; Members Kim K.W. Rucker (Chair); Abdulaziz F. Alkhayyal; Eileen P. Paterson; Frank M. Semple; Jeffrey C. Campbell
Committee AppointmentKim K.W. Rucker: chair, Compensation and Organization Development
Committee AppointmentAbdulaziz F. Alkhayyal: member, Compensation and Organization Development
Committee AppointmentEileen P. Paterson: member, Compensation and Organization Development
Committee AppointmentFrank M. Semple: member, Compensation and Organization Development
Committee AppointmentJeffrey C. Campbell: member, Compensation and Organization Development
Committee RecordCorporate Governance and Nominating: Chair J. Michael Stice; Members J. Michael Stice (Chair); Evan Bayh; John P. Surma; Jonathan Z. Cohen; Kimberly N. Ellison-Taylor
Committee AppointmentJ. Michael Stice: chair, Corporate Governance and Nominating
Committee AppointmentEvan Bayh: member, Corporate Governance and Nominating
Committee AppointmentJohn P. Surma: member, Corporate Governance and Nominating
Committee AppointmentJonathan Z. Cohen: member, Corporate Governance and Nominating
Committee AppointmentKimberly N. Ellison-Taylor: member, Corporate Governance and Nominating
Committee RecordSustainability and Public Policy: Chair Evan Bayh; Members Evan Bayh (Chair); Abdulaziz F. Alkhayyal; Eileen P. Paterson; J. Michael Stice
Committee AppointmentEvan Bayh: chair, Sustainability and Public Policy
Committee AppointmentAbdulaziz F. Alkhayyal: member, Sustainability and Public Policy
Committee AppointmentEileen P. Paterson: member, Sustainability and Public Policy
Committee AppointmentJ. Michael Stice: member, Sustainability and Public Policy

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerMaryann T. Mannen, Chairman of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer, from Feb 26, 2026
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingMPC (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 15, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NYSE: MPCcurrentJul 1, 2011inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameMarathon Petroleum Corp
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.marathonpetroleum.com
Published FactEnergy
Published Facthttps://www.marathonpetroleum.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
19 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 15, 2026. Cited by 6 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    Marathon Petroleum Corp Form 10-K (filed 2026-02-26). SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec filing. Published Mar 16, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Mar 16, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Mar 16, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Mar 16, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    sec filing. Published Mar 16, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    sec filing. Published Mar 16, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    sec filing. Published Mar 16, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    sec filing. Published Mar 16, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    sec filing. Published Mar 16, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    sec filing. Published Mar 16, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  13. E13
    sec filing. Published Mar 16, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  14. E14
    sec filing. Published Feb 26, 2026. Retrieved May 14, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  15. E15
    MPC executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  16. E16
    sec filing. Published Feb 26, 2026. Retrieved May 14, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  17. E17
    sec filing. Published Feb 26, 2026. Retrieved May 14, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  18. E18
    board_seats. sp500-board-director-completeness-remediation-2026-05-15. Cited by 24 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  19. E19
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 15, 2026
  • Erin M. Brzezinski executive of Marathon Petroleum, effective 2026-02-26.
  • Maria A. Khoury executive of Marathon Petroleum, effective 2026-02-26.
  • Maryann T. Mannen executive of Marathon Petroleum, effective 2026-02-26.
  • Eileen P. Paterson seat on Marathon Petroleum, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Jeffrey C. Campbell seat on Marathon Petroleum, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Kimberly N. Ellison-Taylor seat on Marathon Petroleum, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Maryann T. Mannen seat on Marathon Petroleum, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair; Compensation and Organization Development committee of Marathon Petroleum, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Jeffrey C. Campbell member of Audit · Chair; Compensation and Organization Development, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Kimberly N. Ellison-Taylor member of Audit; Corporate Governance and Nominating, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Eileen P. Paterson member of Compensation and Organization Development; Sustainability and Public Policy, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Frank M. Semple seat on Marathon Petroleum, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation and Organization Development committee of Marathon Petroleum, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Frank M. Semple member of Audit; Compensation and Organization Development, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Jonathan Z. Cohen seat on Marathon Petroleum, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Jonathan Z. Cohen member of Audit; Corporate Governance and Nominating, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Abdulaziz F. Alkhayyal seat on Marathon Petroleum, effective 2016-01-01.
  • Compensation and Organization Development; Sustainability and Public Policy committee of Marathon Petroleum, effective 2016-01-01.
  • Abdulaziz F. Alkhayyal member of Compensation and Organization Development; Sustainability and Public Policy, effective 2016-01-01.
  • Evan Bayh seat on Marathon Petroleum, effective 2011-01-01.
  • John P. Surma seat on Marathon Petroleum, effective 2011-01-01.
  • Audit; Corporate Governance and Nominating committee of Marathon Petroleum, effective 2011-01-01.
  • John P. Surma member of Audit; Corporate Governance and Nominating, effective 2011-01-01.
  • Corporate Governance and Nominating; Sustainability and Public Policy · Chair committee of Marathon Petroleum, effective 2011-01-01.
  • Evan Bayh member of Corporate Governance and Nominating; Sustainability and Public Policy · Chair, effective 2011-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:5e3c9e8f-c082-4cf5-b115-a05132998fc3, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/marathon-petroleum-corp

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:5e3c9e8f-c082-4cf5-b115-a05132998fc3
  • Cite this recordMarathon Petroleum
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/marathon-petroleum-corp
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    Marathon PetroleumCompany
  • Erin M. BrzezinskiPerson
  • Maria A. KhouryPerson
  • Maryann T. MannenPerson
  • John J. QuaidPerson
  • Abdulaziz F. AlkhayyalPerson
  • Eileen P. PatersonPerson
  • Evan BayhPerson
  • Frank M. SemplePerson
  • Jeffrey C. CampbellPerson
  • John P. SurmaPerson
  • Jonathan Z. CohenPerson
  • Kimberly N. Ellison-TaylorPerson
  • J. Michael SticePerson
  • Kim K.W. RuckerPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewMarathon Petroleum
  • MonitoringMarathon Petroleum
  • LeadershipMarathon Petroleum
  • BoardMarathon Petroleum
  • CommitteesMarathon Petroleum
  • Control and votingMarathon Petroleum
  • Authority to actMarathon Petroleum
  • FinancialsMarathon Petroleum
  • GovernanceMarathon Petroleum
  • RiskMarathon Petroleum
  • AI oversightMarathon Petroleum
  • LegalMarathon Petroleum
  • CompensationMarathon Petroleum
  • Other published claimsMarathon Petroleum
  • Coverage gapsMarathon Petroleum
  • Linked peopleMarathon Petroleum
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.