Published mark

Merck & Co.

Merck & Co., Inc.

NYSE: MRK. Merck & Co., Inc. is a global healthcare leader with operations spanning two core divisions: Pharmaceuticals and Animal Health.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:1aea0f59-381a-4160-9e35-9e60184ed39e
SEC CIK
0000310158
Website
www.merck.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 15, 2026
Newest evidence
May 3, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Robert M. DavisSince Feb 24, 2026
Chair
Robert M. DavisLead independent: Thomas H. Glocer
Independent
2 / 213 directors published
Published claims
546 distinct sources
Evidence records
300 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 6 distinct sources and 30 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

EXECUTIVE APPOINTED

Barbara A. Larson executive of Merck & Co., effective 2026-02-24.

EffectiveEffective Feb 24, 2026E15

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Executive Vice President and Chief Human Resources OfficerBarbara A. LarsonFeb 2026currentSource reportedE15
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial OfficerCaroline LitchfieldFeb 2026currentSource reportedE17
Senior Vice President, Chief Marketing Officer, Human HealthChirfi GuindoFeb 2026currentSource reportedE18
Senior Vice President Finance Global ControllerDalton SmartFeb 2026currentSource reportedE19
Senior Vice President, Human Health OperationsDavid R. MaraldoFeb 2026currentSource reportedE20
Executive Vice President, Chief Information and Digital OfficerDavid S. WilliamsFeb 2026currentSource reportedE21
Executive Vice President, President, Merck Research LaboratoriesDean LiFeb 2026currentSource reportedE22
Executive Vice President and General CounselJennifer ZacharyFeb 2026currentSource reportedE23
Senior Vice President and President Merck U.S. Human HealthJohannes J. OosthuizenFeb 2026currentSource reportedE24
Senior Vice President and President MSD International Human HealthJohn J. RomanelliFeb 2026currentSource reportedE25
Executive Vice President and President, Merck Animal HealthRichard R. DeLuca, Jr.Feb 2026currentSource reportedE26
Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and PresidentRobert M. DavisFeb 2026currentSource reportedE27
Executive Vice President and President, Merck Manufacturing DivisionSanat ChattopadhyayFeb 2026currentSource reportedE28
Executive Vice President and Chief Human Resources OfficerBetty D. LarsonNot capturedunknownSource reportedE16

Board of directors

Evidence

13 directors published. 2 of 2 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Christine E. Seidman, M.D.Independent2020None publishedSource reportedE4
Douglas M. Baker, Jr.Independence not published2022AuditSource reportedE5
Inge G. ThulinIndependence not published2018Compensation and Management DevelopmentCompensation and Management Development; GovernanceGovernanceSource reportedE6
Kathy J. WardenIndependence not published2020Compensation and Management DevelopmentCompensation and Management Development; GovernanceGovernanceSource reportedE7
Mary Ellen CoeIndependent2019Compensation and Management DevelopmentSource reportedE4
Pamela J. CraigIndependence not published2015Audit, chairAudit · Chair; GovernanceGovernanceSource reportedE8
Patricia F. RussoIndependence not published1995Compensation and Management Development, chairCompensation and Management Development · Chair; GovernanceGovernanceSource reportedE9
Paul B. Rothman, M.D.Independence not published2015None publishedSource reportedE10
Risa J. Lavizzo-Mourey, M.D.Independence not published2020None publishedSource reportedE11
Robert M. DavisIndependence not publishedChair2021None publishedSource reportedE3
Stephen L. Mayo, Ph.D.Independence not published2021None publishedSource reportedE12
Surendralal L. KarsanbhaiIndependence not published2025AuditAudit; GovernanceGovernanceSource reportedE13
Thomas H. GlocerIndependence not publishedLead Independent2007Compensation and Management DevelopmentCompensation and Management Development; Governance · ChairGovernance, chairSource reportedE14

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditPamela J. CraigPamela J. Craig, Douglas M. Baker, Jr., Surendralal L. KarsanbhaiNot described in the published record
Audit · Chair; GovernanceNot publishedPamela J. CraigNot described in the published record
Audit; GovernanceNot publishedSurendralal L. KarsanbhaiNot described in the published record
Compensation and Management DevelopmentPatricia F. RussoPatricia F. Russo, Inge G. Thulin, Kathy J. Warden, Mary Ellen Coe, Thomas H. GlocerNot described in the published record
Compensation and Management Development · Chair; GovernanceNot publishedPatricia F. RussoNot described in the published record
Compensation and Management Development; GovernanceNot publishedInge G. Thulin, Kathy J. WardenNot described in the published record
Compensation and Management Development; Governance · ChairNot publishedThomas H. GlocerNot described in the published record
GovernanceThomas H. GlocerThomas H. Glocer, Inge G. Thulin, Kathy J. Warden, Pamela J. Craig, Patricia F. Russo, Surendralal L. KarsanbhaiNot described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Pamela J. Craig; Members Pamela J. Craig (Chair); Douglas M. Baker, Jr.; Surendralal L. Karsanbhai
Committee AppointmentPamela J. Craig: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentDouglas M. Baker, Jr.: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentSurendralal L. Karsanbhai: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation and Management Development: Chair Patricia F. Russo; Members Patricia F. Russo (Chair); Inge G. Thulin; Kathy J. Warden; Mary Ellen Coe; Thomas H. Glocer
Committee AppointmentPatricia F. Russo: chair, Compensation and Management Development
Committee AppointmentInge G. Thulin: member, Compensation and Management Development
Committee AppointmentKathy J. Warden: member, Compensation and Management Development
Committee AppointmentMary Ellen Coe: member, Compensation and Management Development
Committee AppointmentThomas H. Glocer: member, Compensation and Management Development
Committee RecordGovernance: Chair Thomas H. Glocer; Members Thomas H. Glocer (Chair); Inge G. Thulin; Kathy J. Warden; Pamela J. Craig; Patricia F. Russo; Surendralal L. Karsanbhai
Committee AppointmentThomas H. Glocer: chair, Governance
Committee AppointmentInge G. Thulin: member, Governance
Committee AppointmentKathy J. Warden: member, Governance
Committee AppointmentPamela J. Craig: member, Governance
Committee AppointmentPatricia F. Russo: member, Governance
Committee AppointmentSurendralal L. Karsanbhai: member, Governance

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerRobert M. Davis, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President, from Feb 24, 2026
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingMRK (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 15, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NYSE: MRKcurrentMar 4, 1957inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameMerck & Co., Inc.
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.merck.com
Published FactHealthcare
Published FactDrug Manufacturers
Published Facthttps://www.merck.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
30 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 15, 2026. Cited by 7 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    Merck & Co., Inc. Form 10-K (filed 2026-02-24). SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec filing. Published Apr 9, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec proxy. Published Apr 8, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Apr 9, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Apr 9, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    sec filing. Published Apr 9, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    sec filing. Published Apr 9, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    sec filing. Published Apr 9, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    sec filing. Published Apr 9, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    sec filing. Published Apr 9, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    sec filing. Published Apr 9, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  13. E13
    sec filing. Published Apr 9, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  14. E14
    sec filing. Published Apr 9, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  15. E15
    sec filing. Published Feb 24, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  16. E16
    MRK executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  17. E17
    sec filing. Published Feb 24, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  18. E18
    sec filing. Published Feb 24, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  19. E19
    sec filing. Published Feb 24, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  20. E20
    sec filing. Published Feb 24, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  21. E21
    sec filing. Published Feb 24, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  22. E22
    sec filing. Published Feb 24, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  23. E23
    sec filing. Published Feb 24, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  24. E24
    sec filing. Published Feb 24, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  25. E25
    sec filing. Published Feb 24, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  26. E26
    sec filing. Published Feb 24, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  27. E27
    sec filing. Published Feb 24, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  28. E28
    sec filing. Published Feb 24, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  29. E29
    board_seats. sp500-board-director-completeness-remediation-2026-05-15. Cited by 17 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  30. E30
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 15, 2026
  • Barbara A. Larson executive of Merck & Co., effective 2026-02-24.
  • Caroline Litchfield executive of Merck & Co., effective 2026-02-24.
  • Chirfi Guindo executive of Merck & Co., effective 2026-02-24.
  • Dalton Smart executive of Merck & Co., effective 2026-02-24.
  • David R. Maraldo executive of Merck & Co., effective 2026-02-24.
  • David S. Williams executive of Merck & Co., effective 2026-02-24.
  • Dean Li executive of Merck & Co., effective 2026-02-24.
  • Jennifer Zachary executive of Merck & Co., effective 2026-02-24.
  • Johannes J. Oosthuizen executive of Merck & Co., effective 2026-02-24.
  • John J. Romanelli executive of Merck & Co., effective 2026-02-24.
  • Richard R. DeLuca, Jr. executive of Merck & Co., effective 2026-02-24.
  • Robert M. Davis executive of Merck & Co., effective 2026-02-24.
  • Sanat Chattopadhyay executive of Merck & Co., effective 2026-02-24.
  • Surendralal L. Karsanbhai seat on Merck & Co., effective 2025-01-01.
  • Audit; Governance committee of Merck & Co., effective 2025-01-01.
  • Surendralal L. Karsanbhai member of Audit; Governance, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Douglas M. Baker, Jr. seat on Merck & Co., effective 2022-01-01.
  • Douglas M. Baker, Jr. member of Audit, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Robert M. Davis seat on Merck & Co., effective 2021-01-01.
  • Robert M. Davis chairs board Merck & Co., effective 2021-01-01.
  • Stephen L. Mayo, Ph.D. seat on Merck & Co., effective 2021-01-01.
  • Christine E. Seidman, M.D. seat on Merck & Co., effective 2020-01-01.
  • Kathy J. Warden seat on Merck & Co., effective 2020-01-01.
  • Risa J. Lavizzo-Mourey, M.D. seat on Merck & Co., effective 2020-01-01.
  • Kathy J. Warden member of Compensation and Management Development; Governance, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Mary Ellen Coe seat on Merck & Co., effective 2019-01-01.
  • Inge G. Thulin seat on Merck & Co., effective 2018-01-01.
  • Compensation and Management Development; Governance committee of Merck & Co., effective 2018-01-01.
  • Inge G. Thulin member of Compensation and Management Development; Governance, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Pamela J. Craig seat on Merck & Co., effective 2015-01-01.
  • Paul B. Rothman, M.D. seat on Merck & Co., effective 2015-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair; Governance committee of Merck & Co., effective 2015-01-01.
  • Pamela J. Craig member of Audit · Chair; Governance, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Thomas H. Glocer seat on Merck & Co., effective 2007-01-01.
  • Thomas H. Glocer lead independent director of Merck & Co., effective 2007-01-01.
  • Compensation and Management Development; Governance · Chair committee of Merck & Co., effective 2007-01-01.
  • Thomas H. Glocer member of Compensation and Management Development; Governance · Chair, effective 2007-01-01.
  • Patricia F. Russo seat on Merck & Co., effective 1995-01-01.
  • Compensation and Management Development · Chair; Governance committee of Merck & Co., effective 1995-01-01.
  • Patricia F. Russo member of Compensation and Management Development · Chair; Governance, effective 1995-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:1aea0f59-381a-4160-9e35-9e60184ed39e, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/merck-co-inc

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:1aea0f59-381a-4160-9e35-9e60184ed39e
  • Cite this recordMerck & Co.
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/merck-co-inc
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    Merck & Co.Company
  • Barbara A. LarsonPerson
  • Caroline LitchfieldPerson
  • Chirfi GuindoPerson
  • Dalton SmartPerson
  • David R. MaraldoPerson
  • David S. WilliamsPerson
  • Dean LiPerson
  • Jennifer ZacharyPerson
  • Johannes J. OosthuizenPerson
  • John J. RomanelliPerson
  • Richard R. DeLuca, Jr.Person
  • Robert M. DavisPerson
  • Sanat ChattopadhyayPerson
  • Betty D. LarsonPerson
  • Christine E. Seidman, M.D.Person
  • Douglas M. Baker, Jr.Person
  • Inge G. ThulinPerson
  • Kathy J. WardenPerson
  • Mary Ellen CoePerson
  • Pamela J. CraigPerson
  • Patricia F. RussoPerson
  • Paul B. Rothman, M.D.Person
  • Risa J. Lavizzo-Mourey, M.D.Person
  • Stephen L. Mayo, Ph.D.Person
  • Surendralal L. KarsanbhaiPerson
  • Thomas H. GlocerPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewMerck & Co.
  • MonitoringMerck & Co.
  • LeadershipMerck & Co.
  • BoardMerck & Co.
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.