Published mark

Microsoft Corp

MICROSOFT CORP

NASDAQ: MSFT. Microsoft Corporation is a prominent global technology firm that invents, markets, and provides ongoing assistance for a diverse range of software, digital services, computing devices, and comprehensive solutions.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:8c2f0d1f-4759-4bcd-a0e1-831eea66402b
SEC CIK
0000789019
Website
www.microsoft.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 15, 2026
Newest evidence
May 13, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Satya NadellaSince Feb 4, 2014
Chair
Satya NadellaLead independent: Sandra E. Peterson
Independent
1 / 213 directors published
Published claims
539 distinct sources
Evidence records
250 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 9 distinct sources and 25 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

DIRECTOR APPOINTED

Carmine Di Sibio seat on Microsoft Corp, effective 2026-05-13.

EffectiveEffective May 13, 2026E4

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Chief Executive OfficerSatya NadellaFeb 2014currentSource reportedE21
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial OfficerAmy E. HoodNot capturedunknownSource reportedE16
Executive Vice President and Chief Human Resources OfficerAmy L. ColemanNot capturedunknownSource reportedE17
Vice Chair and PresidentBradford L. SmithNot capturedunknownSource reportedE18
Executive Vice President and Chief Commercial OfficerJudson B. AlthoffNot capturedunknownSource reportedE19
Executive Vice President, Office of Strategy and TransformationKathleen T. HoganNot capturedunknownSource reportedE20
Executive Vice President and Chief Marketing OfficerTakeshi NumotoNot capturedunknownSource reportedE22

Board of directors

Evidence

13 directors published. 1 of 2 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Carmine Di SibioIndependent2026AuditAudit; CompensationCompensationSource reportedE4
Catherine MacGregorIndependence not published2023None publishedSource reportedE5
Charles W. ScharfIndependence not published2014CompensationCompensation; Governance and NominatingGovernance and NominatingSource reportedE6
Emma N. WalmsleyIndependence not published2019CompensationCompensation; Environmental, Social, and Public PolicyEnvironmental, Social, and Public PolicySource reportedE7
Hugh F. JohnstonIndependence not published2017Audit, chairAudit · ChairSource reportedE8
John David RaineyIndependence not published2025None publishedSource reportedE9
John W. StantonIndependence not published2014AuditAudit; Environmental, Social, and Public PolicyEnvironmental, Social, and Public PolicySource reportedE10
Mark A. L. MasonIndependence not published2023Governance and NominatingSource reportedE11
Penny S. PritzkerIndependence not published2017Environmental, Social, and Public Policy, chairEnvironmental, Social, and Public Policy · ChairSource reportedE12
Reid G. HoffmanIndependence not published2017Environmental, Social, and Public PolicySource reportedE13
Sandra E. PetersonIndependence not publishedLead Independent2015CompensationCompensation; Governance and Nominating · ChairGovernance and Nominating, chairSource reportedE14
Satya NadellaNot independentChair2021None publishedSource reportedE3
Teri L. ListIndependence not published2014AuditAudit; Governance and NominatingGovernance and NominatingSource reportedE15
Catherine MacGregorIndependence not publishedNot publishedCompensationEnvironmental, Social, and Public PolicySource reportedE23

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditHugh F. JohnstonHugh F. Johnston, Carmine Di Sibio, John W. Stanton, Teri L. ListNot described in the published record
Audit · ChairNot publishedHugh F. JohnstonNot described in the published record
Audit; CompensationNot publishedCarmine Di SibioNot described in the published record
Audit; Environmental, Social, and Public PolicyNot publishedJohn W. Stantonclimate
Audit; Governance and NominatingNot publishedTeri L. ListNot described in the published record
CompensationNot publishedCarmine Di Sibio, Catherine MacGregor, Charles W. Scharf, Emma N. Walmsley, Sandra E. PetersonNot described in the published record
Compensation; Environmental, Social, and Public PolicyNot publishedEmma N. Walmsleyclimate
Compensation; Governance and NominatingNot publishedCharles W. ScharfNot described in the published record
Compensation; Governance and Nominating · ChairNot publishedSandra E. PetersonNot described in the published record
Environmental, Social, and Public PolicyPenny S. PritzkerPenny S. Pritzker, Catherine MacGregor, Emma N. Walmsley, John W. Stanton, Reid G. Hoffmanclimate
Environmental, Social, and Public Policy · ChairNot publishedPenny S. Pritzkerclimate
Governance and NominatingSandra E. PetersonSandra E. Peterson, Charles W. Scharf, Mark A. L. Mason, Teri L. ListNot described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Hugh F. Johnston; Members Hugh F. Johnston (Chair); Carmine Di Sibio; John W. Stanton; Teri L. List
Committee AppointmentHugh F. Johnston: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentCarmine Di Sibio: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentJohn W. Stanton: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentTeri L. List: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentCarmine Di Sibio: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentCatherine MacGregor: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentCharles W. Scharf: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentEmma N. Walmsley: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentSandra E. Peterson: member, Compensation
Committee RecordEnvironmental, Social, and Public Policy: Chair Penny S. Pritzker; Members Penny S. Pritzker (Chair); Catherine MacGregor; Emma N. Walmsley; John W. Stanton; Reid G. Hoffman
Committee AppointmentPenny S. Pritzker: chair, Environmental, Social, and Public Policy
Committee AppointmentCatherine MacGregor: member, Environmental, Social, and Public Policy
Committee AppointmentEmma N. Walmsley: member, Environmental, Social, and Public Policy
Committee AppointmentJohn W. Stanton: member, Environmental, Social, and Public Policy
Committee AppointmentReid G. Hoffman: member, Environmental, Social, and Public Policy
Committee RecordGovernance and Nominating: Chair Sandra E. Peterson; Members Sandra E. Peterson (Chair); Charles W. Scharf; Mark A. L. Mason; Teri L. List
Committee AppointmentSandra E. Peterson: chair, Governance and Nominating
Committee AppointmentCharles W. Scharf: member, Governance and Nominating
Committee AppointmentMark A. L. Mason: member, Governance and Nominating
Committee AppointmentTeri L. List: member, Governance and Nominating

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerSatya Nadella, Chief Executive Officer, from Feb 4, 2014
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Index MembershipNasdaq-100 (NDX)
Security ListingMSFT (NASDAQ)
Index memberships2 memberships attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPXNDX
Source reportedAs of Oct 15, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NASDAQ: MSFTcurrentJun 1, 1994inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)
Nasdaq-100 (Nasdaq)NASDAQ: MSFTcurrentSep 1, 2026exchange verifiedNasdaq official Nasdaq-100 list-type API

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameMICROSOFT CORP
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.microsoft.com
Published FactTechnology
Published FactSoftware - Infrastructure
Published Facthttps://www.microsoft.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
25 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 15, 2026. Cited by 7 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    MICROSOFT CORP Form 10-K (filed 2026-07-29). SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    company page. Published Jun 16, 2021. Retrieved Sep 15, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published May 13, 2026. Retrieved Sep 12, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Oct 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Oct 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    sec filing. Published Oct 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    sec filing. Published Oct 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    sec filing. Published Oct 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    sec filing. Published Oct 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    sec filing. Published Oct 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    sec filing. Published Oct 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  13. E13
    sec filing. Published Oct 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  14. E14
    sec filing. Published Oct 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  15. E15
    sec filing. Published Oct 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  16. E16
    MSFT executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  17. E17
    MSFT executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  18. E18
    MSFT executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  19. E19
    MSFT executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  20. E20
    MSFT executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  21. E21
    company page. Published Feb 4, 2014. Retrieved Sep 15, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  22. E22
    MSFT executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  23. E23
    board_seats. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/789019/000119312526224155/d125909d8k.htm. Cited by 22 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  24. E24
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  25. E25
    Nasdaq official Nasdaq-100 list-type API. index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 15, 2026
  • Carmine Di Sibio seat on Microsoft Corp, effective 2026-05-13.
  • Audit; Compensation committee of Microsoft Corp, effective 2026-05-13.
  • Carmine Di Sibio member of Audit; Compensation, effective 2026-05-13.
  • John David Rainey seat on Microsoft Corp, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Catherine MacGregor seat on Microsoft Corp, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Mark A. L. Mason seat on Microsoft Corp, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Satya Nadella seat on Microsoft Corp, effective 2021-06-16.
  • Satya Nadella chairs board Microsoft Corp, effective 2021-06-16.
  • Emma N. Walmsley seat on Microsoft Corp, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Compensation; Environmental, Social, and Public Policy committee of Microsoft Corp, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Emma N. Walmsley member of Compensation; Environmental, Social, and Public Policy, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Hugh F. Johnston seat on Microsoft Corp, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Penny S. Pritzker seat on Microsoft Corp, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Reid G. Hoffman seat on Microsoft Corp, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair committee of Microsoft Corp, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Hugh F. Johnston member of Audit · Chair, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Environmental, Social, and Public Policy · Chair committee of Microsoft Corp, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Penny S. Pritzker member of Environmental, Social, and Public Policy · Chair, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Sandra E. Peterson seat on Microsoft Corp, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Sandra E. Peterson lead independent director of Microsoft Corp, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Compensation; Governance and Nominating · Chair committee of Microsoft Corp, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Sandra E. Peterson member of Compensation; Governance and Nominating · Chair, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Satya Nadella executive of Microsoft Corp, effective 2014-02-04.
  • Charles W. Scharf seat on Microsoft Corp, effective 2014-01-01.
  • John W. Stanton seat on Microsoft Corp, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Teri L. List seat on Microsoft Corp, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Audit; Environmental, Social, and Public Policy committee of Microsoft Corp, effective 2014-01-01.
  • John W. Stanton member of Audit; Environmental, Social, and Public Policy, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Audit; Governance and Nominating committee of Microsoft Corp, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Teri L. List member of Audit; Governance and Nominating, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Compensation; Governance and Nominating committee of Microsoft Corp, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Charles W. Scharf member of Compensation; Governance and Nominating, effective 2014-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:8c2f0d1f-4759-4bcd-a0e1-831eea66402b, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/microsoft-corp

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:8c2f0d1f-4759-4bcd-a0e1-831eea66402b
  • Cite this recordMicrosoft Corp
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/microsoft-corp
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    Microsoft CorpCompany
  • Satya NadellaPerson
  • Amy E. HoodPerson
  • Amy L. ColemanPerson
  • Bradford L. SmithPerson
  • Judson B. AlthoffPerson
  • Kathleen T. HoganPerson
  • Takeshi NumotoPerson
  • Carmine Di SibioPerson
  • Catherine MacGregorPerson
  • Charles W. ScharfPerson
  • Emma N. WalmsleyPerson
  • Hugh F. JohnstonPerson
  • John David RaineyPerson
  • John W. StantonPerson
  • Mark A. L. MasonPerson
  • Penny S. PritzkerPerson
  • Reid G. HoffmanPerson
  • Sandra E. PetersonPerson
  • Teri L. ListPerson
  • Catherine MacGregorPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewMicrosoft Corp
  • MonitoringMicrosoft Corp
  • LeadershipMicrosoft Corp
  • BoardMicrosoft Corp
  • CommitteesMicrosoft Corp
  • Control and votingMicrosoft Corp
  • Authority to actMicrosoft Corp
  • FinancialsMicrosoft Corp
  • GovernanceMicrosoft Corp
  • RiskMicrosoft Corp
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.