Published mark

UPWORK, INC

NASDAQ: UPWK. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:ad9376fa-9dd2-41bd-99c0-af4f2a211388
SEC CIK
0001627475
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 22, 2026
Newest evidence
Apr 23, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Hayden BrownPresident and Chief Executive Officer
Chair
Thomas Layton
Independent
Not published7 directors published
Published claims
283 distinct sources
Evidence records
50 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 3 distinct sources and 5 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

EXECUTIVE APPOINTED

Sabrina Mekhalfa executive of UPWORK, INC, effective 2026-02-13.

EffectiveEffective Feb 13, 2026E4

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Chief Accounting OfficerSabrina MekhalfaFeb 2026currentSource reportedE4
Chief Financial OfficerErica GessertNot capturedunknownSource reportedE2
President and Chief Executive OfficerHayden BrownNot capturedunknownSource reportedE2

Board of directors

Evidence

7 directors published. Independence determinations are not published for every director.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Anilu Vazquez-UbarriIndependence not published2020None publishedSource reportedE3
Dana L. EvanIndependence not published2025Audit, Risk and Compliance CommitteeCompensation Committeenominating and governance committeeSource reportedE3
Gary SteeleIndependence not published2018Compensation Committee, chairSource reportedE3
Glenn KelmanIndependence not published2025Compensation CommitteeSource reportedE3
Hayden BrownIndependence not published2019None publishedSource reportedE3
Kevin HarveyIndependence not published2014nominating and governance committeeSource reportedE3
Leela SrinivasanIndependence not published2019Audit, Risk and Compliance CommitteeSource reportedE3
Claire BramleyIndependentNot publishedNone publishedSource reportedE2
David LissyIndependentNot publishedNone publishedSource reportedE2
Thomas LaytonIndependentChairNot publishednominating and governance committee, chairSource reportedE2

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
Audit, Risk and Compliance CommitteeNot publishedDana L. Evan, Leela Srinivasanregulatory
Compensation CommitteeGary SteeleGary Steele, Dana L. Evan, Glenn KelmanNot described in the published record
nominating and governance committeeThomas LaytonThomas Layton, Dana L. Evan, Kevin HarveyNot described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit, Risk and Compliance Committee: Chair not stated; Members Dana L. Evan; Leela Srinivasan
Committee AppointmentDana L. Evan: member, Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee
Committee AppointmentLeela Srinivasan: member, Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee
Committee RecordCompensation Committee: Chair Gary Steele; Members Gary Steele (Chair); Dana L. Evan; Glenn Kelman
Committee AppointmentGary Steele: chair, Compensation Committee
Committee AppointmentDana L. Evan: member, Compensation Committee
Committee AppointmentGlenn Kelman: member, Compensation Committee
Committee Recordnominating and governance committee: Chair Thomas Layton; Members Thomas Layton (Chair); Dana L. Evan; Kevin Harvey
Committee AppointmentThomas Layton: chair, nominating and governance committee
Committee AppointmentDana L. Evan: member, nominating and governance committee
Committee AppointmentKevin Harvey: member, nominating and governance committee

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerHayden Brown, President and Chief Executive Officer
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Security ListingUPWK (NASDAQ)
Index membershipsNo current membership is published in Alpha's tracked index universe.This is not evidence that the company is absent from every market index.
None publishedAs of Oct 22, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameUPWORK, INC
Entity StatusPublic listing published

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Markets externalNot reviewed. Auditors, advisors, investors and regulators form the external ecosystem.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
5 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 22, 2026. Cited by 4 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    sec def 14a. Published Apr 23, 2026. Retrieved Sep 14, 2026. Cited by 5 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec proxy. Published Apr 23, 2026. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 7 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Feb 13, 2026. Retrieved May 5, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    governance_people_committees. sec proxy. Cited by 11 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 22, 2026
  • Sabrina Mekhalfa executive of UPWORK, INC, effective 2026-02-13.
  • Dana L. Evan seat on UPWORK, INC, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Glenn Kelman seat on UPWORK, INC, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Anilu Vazquez-Ubarri seat on UPWORK, INC, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Hayden Brown seat on UPWORK, INC, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Leela Srinivasan seat on UPWORK, INC, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Gary Steele seat on UPWORK, INC, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Kevin Harvey seat on UPWORK, INC, effective 2014-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:ad9376fa-9dd2-41bd-99c0-af4f2a211388, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/upwork-inc

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:ad9376fa-9dd2-41bd-99c0-af4f2a211388
  • Cite this recordUPWORK, INC
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/upwork-inc
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    UPWORK, INCCompany
  • Sabrina MekhalfaPerson
  • Erica GessertPerson
  • Hayden BrownPerson
  • Anilu Vazquez-UbarriPerson
  • Dana L. EvanPerson
  • Gary SteelePerson
  • Glenn KelmanPerson
  • Kevin HarveyPerson
  • Leela SrinivasanPerson
  • Claire BramleyPerson
  • David LissyPerson
  • Thomas LaytonPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewUPWORK, INC
  • MonitoringUPWORK, INC
  • LeadershipUPWORK, INC
  • BoardUPWORK, INC
  • CommitteesUPWORK, INC
  • Control and votingUPWORK, INC
  • Authority to actUPWORK, INC
  • FinancialsUPWORK, INC
  • GovernanceUPWORK, INC
  • RiskUPWORK, INC
  • AI oversightUPWORK, INC
  • LegalUPWORK, INC
  • CompensationUPWORK, INC
  • Other published claimsUPWORK, INC
  • Coverage gapsUPWORK, INC
  • Linked peopleUPWORK, INC
  • Subject and correctionsUPWORK, INC
  • EvidenceUPWORK, INC
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.