Published mark

Vertex Pharmaceuticals

VERTEX PHARMACEUTICALS INC / MA

NASDAQ: VRTX. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:67a28a17-ff7a-4e42-a246-5086ab42eca9
SEC CIK
0000875320
Website
www.vrtx.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 15, 2026
Newest evidence
May 3, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Reshma Kewalramani, M.D.Chief Executive Officer and President
Chair
Jeffrey M. LeidenLead independent: Bruce Sachs
Independent
Not published11 directors published
Published claims
527 distinct sources
Evidence records
260 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 7 distinct sources and 26 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

DIRECTOR APPOINTED

Jennifer Schneider seat on Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 2024-01-01.

EffectiveEffective Jan 1, 2024E7

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Executive Vice President, Chief Patient and External Affairs OfficerAmit K. Sachdev, J.D.Not capturedunknownSource reportedE14
Executive Vice President, Chief Operating and Financial OfficerCharles F. Wagner, Jr.Not capturedunknownSource reportedE15
Executive Vice President, Global Medicines Development and Medical Affairs, and Chief Medical OfficerCraig B. Thompson, M.D.Not capturedunknownSource reportedE16
Executive Vice President, Chief Commercial OfficerDuncan J. McKechnieNot capturedunknownSource reportedE17
Executive Vice President, Chief Technical Operations Officer, Head of Biopharmaceutical Science and Manufacturing OperationsE. Morrow Morrey Atkinson, III, Ph.D.Not capturedunknownSource reportedE18
Executive Vice President, Chief Legal OfficerJonathan Biller, J.D.Not capturedunknownSource reportedE19
Senior Vice President, Chief Accounting OfficerKristen C. Ambrose, CPANot capturedunknownSource reportedE20
Executive Vice President, Chief Scientific OfficerMark Bunnage, D.PhilNot capturedunknownSource reportedE21
Executive Vice President, Chief Regulatory and Quality OfficerOurania Nia Tatsis, Ph.D.Not capturedunknownSource reportedE22
Chief Executive Officer and PresidentReshma Kewalramani, M.D.Not capturedunknownSource reportedE23

Board of directors

Evidence

11 directors published. Independence determinations are not published for every director.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Alan GarberIndependence not published2017CGNCCGNC; Nominating and GovernanceNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE4
Bruce SachsIndependence not publishedLead Independent1998None publishedSource reportedE5
Diana McKenzieIndependence not published2020AuditAudit; MDCC; CompensationCompensationMDCCSource reportedE6
Jeffrey M. LeidenIndependence not publishedChair2009None publishedSource reportedE3
Jennifer SchneiderIndependence not published2024CompensationMDCCMDCC; CompensationSource reportedE7
Lloyd CarneyIndependence not published2019AuditAudit; CGNC; Nominating and GovernanceCGNCNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE8
Michel LagardeIndependence not published2023AuditSource reportedE9
Nancy ThornberryIndependence not published2023None publishedSource reportedE10
Reshma KewalramaniIndependence not published2020None publishedSource reportedE11
Sangeeta BhatiaIndependence not published2015CGNCCGNC; Nominating and GovernanceNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE12
Suketu UpadhyayIndependence not published2022AuditAudit; MDCC; CompensationCompensationMDCCSource reportedE13

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditNot publishedDiana McKenzie, Lloyd Carney, Michel Lagarde, Suketu UpadhyayNot described in the published record
Audit; CGNC; Nominating and GovernanceNot publishedLloyd CarneyNot described in the published record
Audit; MDCC; CompensationNot publishedDiana McKenzie, Suketu UpadhyayNot described in the published record
CGNCNot publishedAlan Garber, Lloyd Carney, Sangeeta BhatiaNot described in the published record
CGNC; Nominating and GovernanceNot publishedAlan Garber, Sangeeta BhatiaNot described in the published record
CompensationNot publishedDiana McKenzie, Jennifer Schneider, Suketu UpadhyayNot described in the published record
MDCCNot publishedDiana McKenzie, Jennifer Schneider, Suketu UpadhyayNot described in the published record
MDCC; CompensationNot publishedJennifer SchneiderNot described in the published record
Nominating and GovernanceNot publishedAlan Garber, Lloyd Carney, Sangeeta BhatiaNot described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair not stated; Members Diana McKenzie; Lloyd Carney; Michel Lagarde; Suketu Upadhyay
Committee AppointmentDiana McKenzie: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentLloyd Carney: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentMichel Lagarde: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentSuketu Upadhyay: member, Audit
Committee RecordCGNC: Chair not stated; Members Alan Garber; Lloyd Carney; Sangeeta Bhatia
Committee AppointmentAlan Garber: member, CGNC
Committee AppointmentLloyd Carney: member, CGNC
Committee AppointmentSangeeta Bhatia: member, CGNC
Committee RecordCompensation: Chair not stated; Members Diana McKenzie; Jennifer Schneider; Suketu Upadhyay
Committee AppointmentDiana McKenzie: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentJennifer Schneider: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentSuketu Upadhyay: member, Compensation
Committee RecordMDCC: Chair not stated; Members Diana McKenzie; Jennifer Schneider; Suketu Upadhyay
Committee AppointmentDiana McKenzie: member, MDCC
Committee AppointmentJennifer Schneider: member, MDCC
Committee AppointmentSuketu Upadhyay: member, MDCC
Committee RecordNominating and Governance: Chair not stated; Members Alan Garber; Lloyd Carney; Sangeeta Bhatia
Committee AppointmentAlan Garber: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentLloyd Carney: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentSangeeta Bhatia: member, Nominating and Governance

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerReshma Kewalramani, M.D., Chief Executive Officer and President
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Index MembershipNasdaq-100 (NDX)
Security ListingVRTX (NASDAQ)
Index memberships2 memberships attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPXNDX
Source reportedAs of Oct 16, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NASDAQ: VRTXcurrentSep 23, 2013inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)
Nasdaq-100 (Nasdaq)NASDAQ: VRTXcurrentSep 1, 2026exchange verifiedNasdaq official Nasdaq-100 list-type API

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameVERTEX PHARMACEUTICALS INC / MA
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.vrtx.com
Published FactHealthcare
Published Facthttps://www.vrtx.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
26 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 15, 2026. Cited by 6 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    VERTEX PHARMACEUTICALS INC / MA Form 10-K (filed 2026-02-13). SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec filing. Published Apr 3, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Apr 3, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Apr 3, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Apr 3, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    sec filing. Published Apr 3, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    sec filing. Published Apr 3, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    sec filing. Published Apr 3, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    sec filing. Published Apr 3, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    sec filing. Published Apr 3, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    sec filing. Published Apr 3, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  13. E13
    sec filing. Published Apr 3, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  14. E14
    VRTX executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  15. E15
    VRTX executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  16. E16
    VRTX executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  17. E17
    VRTX executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  18. E18
    VRTX executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  19. E19
    VRTX executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  20. E20
    VRTX executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  21. E21
    VRTX executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  22. E22
    VRTX executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  23. E23
    VRTX executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  24. E24
    board_seats. sp500-board-director-completeness-remediation-2026-05-15. Cited by 21 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  25. E25
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  26. E26
    Nasdaq official Nasdaq-100 list-type API. index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 15, 2026
  • Jennifer Schneider seat on Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 2024-01-01.
  • MDCC; Compensation committee of Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Jennifer Schneider member of MDCC; Compensation, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Michel Lagarde seat on Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Nancy Thornberry seat on Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Suketu Upadhyay seat on Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Suketu Upadhyay member of Audit; MDCC; Compensation, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Diana McKenzie seat on Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Reshma Kewalramani seat on Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Audit; MDCC; Compensation committee of Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Diana McKenzie member of Audit; MDCC; Compensation, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Lloyd Carney seat on Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Audit; CGNC; Nominating and Governance committee of Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Lloyd Carney member of Audit; CGNC; Nominating and Governance, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Alan Garber seat on Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 2017-01-01.
  • CGNC; Nominating and Governance committee of Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Alan Garber member of CGNC; Nominating and Governance, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Sangeeta Bhatia seat on Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Sangeeta Bhatia member of CGNC; Nominating and Governance, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Jeffrey M. Leiden seat on Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 2009-01-01.
  • Jeffrey M. Leiden chairs board Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 2009-01-01.
  • Bruce Sachs seat on Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 1998-01-01.
  • Bruce Sachs lead independent director of Vertex Pharmaceuticals, effective 1998-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:67a28a17-ff7a-4e42-a246-5086ab42eca9, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/vertex-pharmaceuticals-inc-ma

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:67a28a17-ff7a-4e42-a246-5086ab42eca9
  • Cite this recordVertex Pharmaceuticals
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/vertex-pharmaceuticals-inc-ma
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    Vertex PharmaceuticalsCompany
  • Amit K. Sachdev, J.D.Person
  • Charles F. Wagner, Jr.Person
  • Craig B. Thompson, M.D.Person
  • Duncan J. McKechniePerson
  • E. Morrow Morrey Atkinson, III, Ph.D.Person
  • Jonathan Biller, J.D.Person
  • Kristen C. Ambrose, CPAPerson
  • Mark Bunnage, D.PhilPerson
  • Ourania Nia Tatsis, Ph.D.Person
  • Reshma Kewalramani, M.D.Person
  • Alan GarberPerson
  • Bruce SachsPerson
  • Diana McKenziePerson
  • Jeffrey M. LeidenPerson
  • Jennifer SchneiderPerson
  • Lloyd CarneyPerson
  • Michel LagardePerson
  • Nancy ThornberryPerson
  • Reshma KewalramaniPerson
  • Sangeeta BhatiaPerson
  • Suketu UpadhyayPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewVertex Pharmaceuticals
  • MonitoringVertex Pharmaceuticals
  • LeadershipVertex Pharmaceuticals
  • BoardVertex Pharmaceuticals
  • CommitteesVertex Pharmaceuticals
  • Control and votingVertex Pharmaceuticals
  • Authority to actVertex Pharmaceuticals
  • FinancialsVertex Pharmaceuticals
  • GovernanceVertex Pharmaceuticals
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.