Published mark

Illinois Tool Works

ILLINOIS TOOL WORKS INC

NYSE: ITW. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:b16a38a9-5afa-4ec9-82bc-6465d9391391
SEC CIK
0000049826
Website
www.itw.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 15, 2026
Newest evidence
Mar 27, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Christopher A. O HerlihySince Mar 27, 2026
Chair
E. Scott SantiLead independent: Richard H. Lenny
Independent
Not published13 directors published
Published claims
555 distinct sources
Evidence records
180 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 5 distinct sources and 18 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

DIRECTOR APPOINTED

Jennifer F. Scanlon seat on Illinois Tool Works, effective 2026-03-27.

EffectiveEffective Mar 27, 2026E11

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
President and Chief Executive OfficerChristopher A. O HerlihyMar 2026currentSource reportedE16

Board of directors

Evidence

13 directors published. Independence determinations are not published for every director.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Christopher A. OHerlihyIndependence not published2024ExecutiveSource reportedE4
Daniel J. BruttoIndependence not published2012AuditAudit; FinanceFinanceSource reportedE5
Darrell L. FordIndependence not published2021CompensationCompensation; Corporate Governance and NominatingCorporate Governance and NominatingSource reportedE6
David B. Smith, Jr.Independence not published2009AuditAudit; Finance; ExecutiveExecutiveFinanceSource reportedE7
E. Scott SantiIndependence not publishedChair2012ExecutiveSource reportedE3
Jaime IrickIndependence not published2024AuditSource reportedE8
James W. GriffithIndependence not published2012CompensationCompensation; Corporate Governance and Nominating; ExecutiveCorporate Governance and NominatingExecutiveSource reportedE9
Jay L. HendersonIndependence not published2016Audit, chairAudit · Chair; Finance; ExecutiveExecutiveFinanceSource reportedE10
Jennifer F. ScanlonIndependence not published2026None publishedSource reportedE11
Kelly J. GrierIndependence not published2022AuditAudit; FinanceFinanceSource reportedE12
Pamela B. StrobelIndependence not published2008CompensationCompensation; Corporate Governance and Nominating · Chair; ExecutiveCorporate Governance and Nominating, chairExecutiveSource reportedE13
Richard H. LennyIndependence not publishedLead Independent2014Compensation, chairCompensation · Chair; Corporate Governance and Nominating; ExecutiveCorporate Governance and NominatingExecutiveSource reportedE14
Susan CrownIndependence not published1994CompensationCompensation; Corporate Governance and Nominating; ExecutiveCorporate Governance and NominatingExecutiveSource reportedE15

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditJay L. HendersonJay L. Henderson, Daniel J. Brutto, David B. Smith, Jr., Jaime Irick, Kelly J. GrierNot described in the published record
Audit · Chair; Finance; ExecutiveNot publishedJay L. Hendersonfinancial
Audit; FinanceNot publishedDaniel J. Brutto, Kelly J. Grierfinancial
Audit; Finance; ExecutiveNot publishedDavid B. Smith, Jr.financial
CompensationRichard H. LennyRichard H. Lenny, Darrell L. Ford, James W. Griffith, Pamela B. Strobel, Susan CrownNot described in the published record
Compensation · Chair; Corporate Governance and Nominating; ExecutiveNot publishedRichard H. LennyNot described in the published record
Compensation; Corporate Governance and NominatingNot publishedDarrell L. FordNot described in the published record
Compensation; Corporate Governance and Nominating · Chair; ExecutiveNot publishedPamela B. StrobelNot described in the published record
Compensation; Corporate Governance and Nominating; ExecutiveNot publishedJames W. Griffith, Susan CrownNot described in the published record
Corporate Governance and NominatingPamela B. StrobelPamela B. Strobel, Darrell L. Ford, James W. Griffith, Richard H. Lenny, Susan CrownNot described in the published record
ExecutiveNot publishedChristopher A. OHerlihy, David B. Smith, Jr., E. Scott Santi, James W. Griffith, Jay L. Henderson, Pamela B. Strobel, Richard H. Lenny, Susan CrownNot described in the published record
FinanceNot publishedDaniel J. Brutto, David B. Smith, Jr., Jay L. Henderson, Kelly J. Grierfinancial
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Jay L. Henderson; Members Jay L. Henderson (Chair); Daniel J. Brutto; David B. Smith, Jr.; Jaime Irick; Kelly J. Grier
Committee AppointmentJay L. Henderson: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentDaniel J. Brutto: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentDavid B. Smith, Jr.: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentJaime Irick: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentKelly J. Grier: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation: Chair Richard H. Lenny; Members Richard H. Lenny (Chair); Darrell L. Ford; James W. Griffith; Pamela B. Strobel; Susan Crown
Committee AppointmentRichard H. Lenny: chair, Compensation
Committee AppointmentDarrell L. Ford: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentJames W. Griffith: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentPamela B. Strobel: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentSusan Crown: member, Compensation
Committee RecordCorporate Governance and Nominating: Chair Pamela B. Strobel; Members Pamela B. Strobel (Chair); Darrell L. Ford; James W. Griffith; Richard H. Lenny; Susan Crown
Committee AppointmentPamela B. Strobel: chair, Corporate Governance and Nominating
Committee AppointmentDarrell L. Ford: member, Corporate Governance and Nominating
Committee AppointmentJames W. Griffith: member, Corporate Governance and Nominating
Committee AppointmentRichard H. Lenny: member, Corporate Governance and Nominating
Committee AppointmentSusan Crown: member, Corporate Governance and Nominating
Committee RecordExecutive: Chair not stated; Members Christopher A. OHerlihy; David B. Smith, Jr.; E. Scott Santi; James W. Griffith; Jay L. Henderson; Pamela B. Strobel; Richard H. Lenny; Susan Crown
Committee AppointmentChristopher A. OHerlihy: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentDavid B. Smith, Jr.: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentE. Scott Santi: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentJames W. Griffith: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentJay L. Henderson: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentPamela B. Strobel: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentRichard H. Lenny: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentSusan Crown: member, Executive
Committee RecordFinance: Chair not stated; Members Daniel J. Brutto; David B. Smith, Jr.; Jay L. Henderson; Kelly J. Grier
Committee AppointmentDaniel J. Brutto: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentDavid B. Smith, Jr.: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentJay L. Henderson: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentKelly J. Grier: member, Finance

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerChristopher A. O Herlihy, President and Chief Executive Officer, from Mar 27, 2026
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingITW (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 15, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NYSE: ITWcurrentFeb 28, 1986inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameILLINOIS TOOL WORKS INC
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.itw.com
Published FactIndustrials
Published Facthttps://www.itw.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
18 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 15, 2026. Cited by 6 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    ILLINOIS TOOL WORKS INC Form 10-K (filed 2026-02-13). SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec filing. Published Mar 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Mar 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Mar 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Mar 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    sec filing. Published Mar 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    sec filing. Published Mar 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    sec filing. Published Mar 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    sec filing. Published Mar 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    sec filing. Published Mar 27, 2026. Retrieved May 16, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    sec filing. Published Mar 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  13. E13
    sec filing. Published Mar 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  14. E14
    sec filing. Published Mar 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  15. E15
    sec filing. Published Mar 21, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  16. E16
    sec filing. Published Mar 27, 2026. Retrieved Apr 25, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  17. E17
    board_seats. sp500-board-director-completeness-remediation-2026-05-15. Cited by 32 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  18. E18
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 15, 2026
  • Jennifer F. Scanlon seat on Illinois Tool Works, effective 2026-03-27.
  • Christopher A. O Herlihy executive of Illinois Tool Works, effective 2026-03-27.
  • Christopher A. OHerlihy seat on Illinois Tool Works, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Jaime Irick seat on Illinois Tool Works, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Christopher A. OHerlihy member of Executive, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Kelly J. Grier seat on Illinois Tool Works, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Kelly J. Grier member of Audit; Finance, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Darrell L. Ford seat on Illinois Tool Works, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Compensation; Corporate Governance and Nominating committee of Illinois Tool Works, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Darrell L. Ford member of Compensation; Corporate Governance and Nominating, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Jay L. Henderson seat on Illinois Tool Works, effective 2016-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair; Finance; Executive committee of Illinois Tool Works, effective 2016-01-01.
  • Jay L. Henderson member of Audit · Chair; Finance; Executive, effective 2016-01-01.
  • Richard H. Lenny seat on Illinois Tool Works, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Richard H. Lenny lead independent director of Illinois Tool Works, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Compensation · Chair; Corporate Governance and Nominating; Executive committee of Illinois Tool Works, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Richard H. Lenny member of Compensation · Chair; Corporate Governance and Nominating; Executive, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Daniel J. Brutto seat on Illinois Tool Works, effective 2012-01-01.
  • E. Scott Santi seat on Illinois Tool Works, effective 2012-01-01.
  • E. Scott Santi chairs board Illinois Tool Works, effective 2012-01-01.
  • James W. Griffith seat on Illinois Tool Works, effective 2012-01-01.
  • Audit; Finance committee of Illinois Tool Works, effective 2012-01-01.
  • Daniel J. Brutto member of Audit; Finance, effective 2012-01-01.
  • Compensation; Corporate Governance and Nominating; Executive committee of Illinois Tool Works, effective 2012-01-01.
  • James W. Griffith member of Compensation; Corporate Governance and Nominating; Executive, effective 2012-01-01.
  • David B. Smith, Jr. seat on Illinois Tool Works, effective 2009-01-01.
  • Audit; Finance; Executive committee of Illinois Tool Works, effective 2009-01-01.
  • David B. Smith, Jr. member of Audit; Finance; Executive, effective 2009-01-01.
  • Pamela B. Strobel seat on Illinois Tool Works, effective 2008-01-01.
  • Compensation; Corporate Governance and Nominating · Chair; Executive committee of Illinois Tool Works, effective 2008-01-01.
  • Pamela B. Strobel member of Compensation; Corporate Governance and Nominating · Chair; Executive, effective 2008-01-01.
  • Susan Crown seat on Illinois Tool Works, effective 1994-01-01.
  • Susan Crown member of Compensation; Corporate Governance and Nominating; Executive, effective 1994-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:b16a38a9-5afa-4ec9-82bc-6465d9391391, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/illinois-tool-works-inc

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:b16a38a9-5afa-4ec9-82bc-6465d9391391
  • Cite this recordIllinois Tool Works
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/illinois-tool-works-inc
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    Illinois Tool WorksCompany
  • Christopher A. O HerlihyPerson
  • Christopher A. OHerlihyPerson
  • Daniel J. BruttoPerson
  • Darrell L. FordPerson
  • David B. Smith, Jr.Person
  • E. Scott SantiPerson
  • Jaime IrickPerson
  • James W. GriffithPerson
  • Jay L. HendersonPerson
  • Jennifer F. ScanlonPerson
  • Kelly J. GrierPerson
  • Pamela B. StrobelPerson
  • Richard H. LennyPerson
  • Susan CrownPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewIllinois Tool Works
  • MonitoringIllinois Tool Works
  • LeadershipIllinois Tool Works
  • BoardIllinois Tool Works
  • CommitteesIllinois Tool Works
  • Control and votingIllinois Tool Works
  • Authority to actIllinois Tool Works
  • FinancialsIllinois Tool Works
  • GovernanceIllinois Tool Works
  • RiskIllinois Tool Works
  • AI oversightIllinois Tool Works
  • LegalIllinois Tool Works
  • CompensationIllinois Tool Works
  • Other published claimsIllinois Tool Works
  • Coverage gapsIllinois Tool Works
  • Linked peopleIllinois Tool Works
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.