Published mark

NiSource

NISOURCE INC.

NYSE: NI. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:c08dcdce-08ff-4988-97a4-15b91c47ea88
SEC CIK
0001111711
Website
www.nisource.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 16, 2026
Newest evidence
May 3, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Lloyd YatesPresident and CEO
Chair
Kevin T. Kabat
Independent
11 / 1212 directors published
Published claims
605 distinct sources
Evidence records
70 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 5 distinct sources and 7 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

DIRECTOR APPOINTED

John McAvoy seat on NiSource, effective 2024-01-01.

EffectiveEffective Jan 1, 2024E3

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate SecretaryKimberly S. CucciaNot capturedunknownSource reportedE4
President and CEOLloyd YatesNot capturedunknownSource reportedE5
EVP and Group President, UtilitiesMelody BirminghamNot capturedunknownSource reportedE5
EVP, Technology, Customer and Chief Commercial OfficerMichael LuhrsNot capturedunknownSource reportedE5
EVP and CFOShawn AndersonNot capturedunknownSource reportedE5
EVP, Chief Operating and Safety OfficerWilliam JeffersonNot capturedunknownSource reportedE5

Board of directors

Evidence

12 directors published. 11 of 12 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Cassandra S. LeeIndependent2022None publishedSource reportedE3
Deborah A. HenrettaIndependent2015Compensation & Human CapitalCompensation & Human Capital; Nominating & Governance · Chair; ExecutiveExecutiveNominating & Governance, chairSource reportedE3
Deborah A. P. HersmanIndependent2019Compensation & Human CapitalCompensation & Human Capital; Safety Operations, Regulatory & PolicySafety Operations, Regulatory & PolicySource reportedE3
Eric L. ButlerIndependent2017FinanceFinance; Safety Operations, Regulatory & PolicySafety Operations, Regulatory & PolicySource reportedE3
John McAvoyIndependent2024Compensation & Human CapitalCompensation & Human Capital; Safety Operations, Regulatory & PolicySafety Operations, Regulatory & PolicySource reportedE3
Kevin T. KabatIndependentChair2015ExecutiveNominating & GovernanceNominating & Governance; Executive, chairSource reportedE3
Lloyd M. YatesNot independent2020None publishedSource reportedE3
Michael E. JesanisIndependent2008AuditAudit; Finance; ExecutiveExecutiveFinanceSource reportedE3
Peter A. AltabefIndependentChair2017Compensation & Human Capital, chairCompensation & Human Capital · Chair; Nominating & Governance; Executive, chairExecutiveNominating & GovernanceSource reportedE3
Sondra L. BarbourIndependent2022Audit, chairAudit · Chair; Finance; ExecutiveExecutiveFinanceSource reportedE3
Theodore H. Bunting, Jr.Independent2018AuditAudit; Nominating & GovernanceNominating & GovernanceSource reportedE3
William D. JohnsonIndependent2022ExecutiveNominating & GovernanceNominating & Governance; Safety Operations, Regulatory & Policy; ExecutiveSafety Operations, Regulatory & PolicySource reportedE3
Chan LeeIndependence not publishedNot publishedAuditFinanceSource reportedE6

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditSondra L. BarbourSondra L. Barbour, Chan Lee, Michael E. Jesanis, Theodore H. Bunting, Jr.Not described in the published record
Audit · Chair; Finance; ExecutiveNot publishedSondra L. Barbourfinancial
Audit; Finance; ExecutiveNot publishedMichael E. Jesanisfinancial
Audit; Nominating & GovernanceNot publishedTheodore H. Bunting, Jr.Not described in the published record
Compensation & Human CapitalPeter A. AltabefPeter A. Altabef, Deborah A. Henretta, Deborah A. P. Hersman, John McAvoyhuman_capital, financial
Compensation & Human Capital · Chair; Nominating & Governance; ExecutivePeter A. AltabefPeter A. Altabefhuman_capital, financial
Compensation & Human Capital; Nominating & Governance · Chair; ExecutiveNot publishedDeborah A. Henrettahuman_capital, financial
Compensation & Human Capital; Safety Operations, Regulatory & PolicyNot publishedDeborah A. P. Hersman, John McAvoyhuman_capital, regulatory, financial, operational
ExecutiveNot publishedDeborah A. Henretta, Kevin T. Kabat, Michael E. Jesanis, Peter A. Altabef, Sondra L. Barbour, William D. JohnsonNot described in the published record
FinanceNot publishedChan Lee, Eric L. Butler, Michael E. Jesanis, Sondra L. Barbourfinancial
Finance; Safety Operations, Regulatory & PolicyNot publishedEric L. Butlerregulatory, financial, operational
Nominating & GovernanceDeborah A. HenrettaDeborah A. Henretta, Kevin T. Kabat, Peter A. Altabef, Theodore H. Bunting, Jr., William D. JohnsonNot described in the published record
Nominating & Governance; ExecutiveKevin T. KabatKevin T. KabatNot described in the published record
Nominating & Governance; Safety Operations, Regulatory & Policy; ExecutiveNot publishedWilliam D. Johnsonregulatory, operational
Safety Operations, Regulatory & PolicyNot publishedDeborah A. P. Hersman, Eric L. Butler, John McAvoy, William D. Johnsonregulatory, operational
Committee AppointmentSondra L. Barbour: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentChan Lee: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentMichael E. Jesanis: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentTheodore H. Bunting, Jr.: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation & Human Capital: Chair Peter A. Altabef; Members Peter A. Altabef (Chair); Deborah A. Henretta; Deborah A. P. Hersman; John McAvoy
Committee AppointmentPeter A. Altabef: chair, Compensation & Human Capital
Committee AppointmentDeborah A. Henretta: member, Compensation & Human Capital
Committee AppointmentDeborah A. P. Hersman: member, Compensation & Human Capital
Committee AppointmentJohn McAvoy: member, Compensation & Human Capital
Committee RecordExecutive: Chair not stated; Members Deborah A. Henretta; Kevin T. Kabat; Michael E. Jesanis; Peter A. Altabef; Sondra L. Barbour; William D. Johnson
Committee AppointmentDeborah A. Henretta: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentKevin T. Kabat: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentMichael E. Jesanis: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentPeter A. Altabef: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentSondra L. Barbour: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentWilliam D. Johnson: member, Executive
Committee RecordFinance: Chair not stated; Members Chan Lee; Eric L. Butler; Michael E. Jesanis; Sondra L. Barbour
Committee AppointmentChan Lee: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentEric L. Butler: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentMichael E. Jesanis: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentSondra L. Barbour: member, Finance
Committee RecordNominating & Governance: Chair Deborah A. Henretta; Members Deborah A. Henretta (Chair); Kevin T. Kabat; Peter A. Altabef; Theodore H. Bunting, Jr.; William D. Johnson
Committee AppointmentDeborah A. Henretta: chair, Nominating & Governance
Committee AppointmentKevin T. Kabat: member, Nominating & Governance
Committee AppointmentPeter A. Altabef: member, Nominating & Governance
Committee AppointmentTheodore H. Bunting, Jr.: member, Nominating & Governance
Committee AppointmentWilliam D. Johnson: member, Nominating & Governance
Committee RecordSafety Operations, Regulatory & Policy: Chair not stated; Members Deborah A. P. Hersman; Eric L. Butler; John McAvoy; William D. Johnson
Committee AppointmentDeborah A. P. Hersman: member, Safety Operations, Regulatory & Policy
Committee AppointmentEric L. Butler: member, Safety Operations, Regulatory & Policy
Committee AppointmentJohn McAvoy: member, Safety Operations, Regulatory & Policy
Committee AppointmentWilliam D. Johnson: member, Safety Operations, Regulatory & Policy

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerLloyd Yates, President and CEO
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingNI (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 16, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NYSE: NIcurrentNov 2, 2000inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameNISOURCE INC.
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.nisource.com
Published FactUtilities
Published Facthttps://www.nisource.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
7 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 16, 2026. Cited by 6 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    NISOURCE INC. Form 10-K (filed 2026-02-11). SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec proxy. Published Mar 30, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 12 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    NI executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec def 14a. Published Mar 30, 2026. Retrieved Sep 14, 2026. Cited by 5 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    board_seats. sp500-board-director-completeness-remediation-2026-05-15. Cited by 33 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 16, 2026
  • John McAvoy seat on NiSource, effective 2024-01-01.
  • John McAvoy member of Compensation & Human Capital; Safety Operations, Regulatory & Policy, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Cassandra S. Lee seat on NiSource, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Sondra L. Barbour seat on NiSource, effective 2022-01-01.
  • William D. Johnson seat on NiSource, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair; Finance; Executive committee of NiSource, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Sondra L. Barbour member of Audit · Chair; Finance; Executive, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Nominating & Governance; Safety Operations, Regulatory & Policy; Executive committee of NiSource, effective 2022-01-01.
  • William D. Johnson member of Nominating & Governance; Safety Operations, Regulatory & Policy; Executive, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Lloyd M. Yates seat on NiSource, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Deborah A. P. Hersman seat on NiSource, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Compensation & Human Capital; Safety Operations, Regulatory & Policy committee of NiSource, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Deborah A. P. Hersman member of Compensation & Human Capital; Safety Operations, Regulatory & Policy, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Theodore H. Bunting, Jr. seat on NiSource, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Audit; Nominating & Governance committee of NiSource, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Theodore H. Bunting, Jr. member of Audit; Nominating & Governance, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Eric L. Butler seat on NiSource, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Peter A. Altabef seat on NiSource, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Peter A. Altabef chairs board NiSource, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Compensation & Human Capital · Chair; Nominating & Governance; Executive committee of NiSource, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Peter A. Altabef chairs Compensation & Human Capital · Chair; Nominating & Governance; Executive, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Finance; Safety Operations, Regulatory & Policy committee of NiSource, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Eric L. Butler member of Finance; Safety Operations, Regulatory & Policy, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Deborah A. Henretta seat on NiSource, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Kevin T. Kabat seat on NiSource, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Kevin T. Kabat chairs board NiSource, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Compensation & Human Capital; Nominating & Governance · Chair; Executive committee of NiSource, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Deborah A. Henretta member of Compensation & Human Capital; Nominating & Governance · Chair; Executive, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Nominating & Governance; Executive committee of NiSource, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Kevin T. Kabat chairs Nominating & Governance; Executive, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Michael E. Jesanis seat on NiSource, effective 2008-01-01.
  • Audit; Finance; Executive committee of NiSource, effective 2008-01-01.
  • Michael E. Jesanis member of Audit; Finance; Executive, effective 2008-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:c08dcdce-08ff-4988-97a4-15b91c47ea88, version public-1:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/nisource-inc

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:c08dcdce-08ff-4988-97a4-15b91c47ea88
  • Cite this recordNiSource
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/nisource-inc
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    NiSourceCompany
  • Kimberly S. CucciaPerson
  • Lloyd YatesPerson
  • Melody BirminghamPerson
  • Michael LuhrsPerson
  • Shawn AndersonPerson
  • William JeffersonPerson
  • Cassandra S. LeePerson
  • Deborah A. HenrettaPerson
  • Deborah A. P. HersmanPerson
  • Eric L. ButlerPerson
  • John McAvoyPerson
  • Kevin T. KabatPerson
  • Lloyd M. YatesPerson
  • Michael E. JesanisPerson
  • Peter A. AltabefPerson
  • Sondra L. BarbourPerson
  • Theodore H. Bunting, Jr.Person
  • William D. JohnsonPerson
  • Chan LeePerson
  • Sections
    OverviewNiSource
  • MonitoringNiSource
  • LeadershipNiSource
  • BoardNiSource
  • CommitteesNiSource
  • Control and votingNiSource
  • Authority to actNiSource
  • FinancialsNiSource
  • GovernanceNiSource
  • RiskNiSource
  • AI oversightNiSource
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.