Published mark

Principal Financial Group

PRINCIPAL FINANCIAL GROUP INC

NASDAQ: PFG. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:c2b34b90-fd6c-419b-8deb-5f44a6526a28
SEC CIK
0001126328
Website
www.principal.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 16, 2026
Newest evidence
Apr 6, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Deanna D. Strable-SoethoutSince Feb 18, 2026
Chair
Not publishedLead independent: Scott M. Mills
Independent
11 / 1212 directors published
Published claims
604 distinct sources
Evidence records
150 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 4 distinct sources and 15 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

EXECUTIVE APPOINTED

Amy Friedrich executive of Principal Financial Group, effective 2026-02-18.

EffectiveEffective Feb 18, 2026E4

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
President of Benefits and ProtectionAmy FriedrichFeb 2026currentSource reportedE4
President, Retirement and Income SolutionsChristopher LittlefieldFeb 2026currentSource reportedE5
Chair of the Board, President and Chief Executive OfficerDeanna D. Strable-SoethoutFeb 2026currentSource reportedE6
Vice President and Interim General CounselGeorge DjurasovicFeb 2026currentSource reportedE7
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial OfficerJoel PitzFeb 2026currentSource reportedE8
President and Chief Executive Officer of Principal Asset ManagementKamal BhatiaFeb 2026currentSource reportedE9
Executive Vice President and Chief Information OfficerKathleen KayFeb 2026currentSource reportedE10
Executive Vice President and Chief Risk OfficerKenneth McCullumFeb 2026currentSource reportedE11
Executive Vice President of the Company and President, Principal AsiaThomas CheongFeb 2026currentSource reportedE12
Executive Vice President and Chief Growth OfficerVivek AgrawalFeb 2026currentSource reportedE13

Board of directors

Evidence

12 directors published. 11 of 12 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Alfredo RiveraIndependent2020AuditAudit; FinanceFinanceSource reportedE3
Blair C. PickerellIndependent2015FinanceFinance; Human ResourcesHuman ResourcesSource reportedE3
Clare S. RicherIndependent2020ExecutiveFinanceFinance; Human Resources; ExecutiveHuman ResourcesSource reportedE3
Claudio N. MuruzabalIndependent2021Human ResourcesHuman Resources; Nominating and GovernanceNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE3
Deanna D. Strable-SoethoutNot independent2025ExecutiveSource reportedE3
Diane C. NordinIndependent2017Audit, chairAudit · Chair; FinanceFinanceSource reportedE3
H. Elizabeth MitchellIndependent2022AuditAudit; Nominating and GovernanceNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE3
Jocelyn Carter-MillerIndependent2001ExecutiveHuman ResourcesHuman Resources; Nominating and Governance; ExecutiveNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE3
Jonathan S. AuerbachIndependent2019FinanceFinance; Human ResourcesHuman ResourcesSource reportedE3
Mary E. Maliz BeamsIndependent2021None publishedSource reportedE3
Roger C. HochschildIndependent2015Human ResourcesHuman Resources; Nominating and Governance · ChairNominating and Governance, chairSource reportedE3
Scott M. MillsIndependentLead Independent2016AuditAudit; Nominating and Governance; ExecutiveExecutiveNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE3

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditDiane C. NordinDiane C. Nordin, Alfredo Rivera, H. Elizabeth Mitchell, Scott M. MillsNot described in the published record
Audit · Chair; FinanceNot publishedDiane C. Nordinfinancial
Audit; FinanceNot publishedAlfredo Riverafinancial
Audit; Nominating and GovernanceNot publishedH. Elizabeth MitchellNot described in the published record
Audit; Nominating and Governance; ExecutiveNot publishedScott M. MillsNot described in the published record
ExecutiveNot publishedClare S. Richer, Deanna D. Strable-Soethout, Jocelyn Carter-Miller, Scott M. MillsNot described in the published record
FinanceNot publishedAlfredo Rivera, Blair C. Pickerell, Clare S. Richer, Diane C. Nordin, Jonathan S. Auerbachfinancial
Finance; Human ResourcesNot publishedBlair C. Pickerell, Jonathan S. Auerbachfinancial
Finance; Human Resources; ExecutiveNot publishedClare S. Richerfinancial
Human ResourcesNot publishedBlair C. Pickerell, Clare S. Richer, Claudio N. Muruzabal, Jocelyn Carter-Miller, Jonathan S. Auerbach, Roger C. HochschildNot described in the published record
Human Resources; Nominating and GovernanceNot publishedClaudio N. MuruzabalNot described in the published record
Human Resources; Nominating and Governance · ChairNot publishedRoger C. HochschildNot described in the published record
Human Resources; Nominating and Governance; ExecutiveNot publishedJocelyn Carter-MillerNot described in the published record
Nominating and GovernanceRoger C. HochschildRoger C. Hochschild, Claudio N. Muruzabal, H. Elizabeth Mitchell, Jocelyn Carter-Miller, Scott M. MillsNot described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Diane C. Nordin; Members Diane C. Nordin (Chair); Alfredo Rivera; H. Elizabeth Mitchell; Scott M. Mills
Committee AppointmentDiane C. Nordin: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentAlfredo Rivera: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentH. Elizabeth Mitchell: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentScott M. Mills: member, Audit
Committee RecordExecutive: Chair not stated; Members Clare S. Richer; Deanna D. Strable-Soethout; Jocelyn Carter-Miller; Scott M. Mills
Committee AppointmentClare S. Richer: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentDeanna D. Strable-Soethout: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentJocelyn Carter-Miller: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentScott M. Mills: member, Executive
Committee RecordFinance: Chair not stated; Members Alfredo Rivera; Blair C. Pickerell; Clare S. Richer; Diane C. Nordin; Jonathan S. Auerbach
Committee AppointmentAlfredo Rivera: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentBlair C. Pickerell: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentClare S. Richer: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentDiane C. Nordin: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentJonathan S. Auerbach: member, Finance
Committee RecordHuman Resources: Chair not stated; Members Blair C. Pickerell; Clare S. Richer; Claudio N. Muruzabal; Jocelyn Carter-Miller; Jonathan S. Auerbach; Roger C. Hochschild
Committee AppointmentBlair C. Pickerell: member, Human Resources
Committee AppointmentClare S. Richer: member, Human Resources
Committee AppointmentClaudio N. Muruzabal: member, Human Resources
Committee AppointmentJocelyn Carter-Miller: member, Human Resources
Committee AppointmentJonathan S. Auerbach: member, Human Resources
Committee AppointmentRoger C. Hochschild: member, Human Resources
Committee RecordNominating and Governance: Chair Roger C. Hochschild; Members Roger C. Hochschild (Chair); Claudio N. Muruzabal; H. Elizabeth Mitchell; Jocelyn Carter-Miller; Scott M. Mills
Committee AppointmentRoger C. Hochschild: chair, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentClaudio N. Muruzabal: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentH. Elizabeth Mitchell: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentJocelyn Carter-Miller: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentScott M. Mills: member, Nominating and Governance

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerDeanna D. Strable-Soethout, Chair of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer, from Feb 18, 2026
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingPFG (NASDAQ)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 16, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NASDAQ: PFGcurrentJul 22, 2002inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NamePRINCIPAL FINANCIAL GROUP INC
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.principal.com
Published FactFinancials
Published Facthttps://www.principal.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
15 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 16, 2026. Cited by 6 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    PRINCIPAL FINANCIAL GROUP Form 10-K. SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec proxy. Published Apr 6, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 12 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  13. E13
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  14. E14
    board_seats. sp500-board-director-completeness-remediation-2026-05-15. Cited by 29 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  15. E15
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 16, 2026
  • Amy Friedrich executive of Principal Financial Group, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Christopher Littlefield executive of Principal Financial Group, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Deanna D. Strable-Soethout executive of Principal Financial Group, effective 2026-02-18.
  • George Djurasovic executive of Principal Financial Group, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Joel Pitz executive of Principal Financial Group, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Kamal Bhatia executive of Principal Financial Group, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Kathleen Kay executive of Principal Financial Group, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Kenneth McCullum executive of Principal Financial Group, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Thomas Cheong executive of Principal Financial Group, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Vivek Agrawal executive of Principal Financial Group, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Deanna D. Strable-Soethout seat on Principal Financial Group, effective 2025-01-01.
  • H. Elizabeth Mitchell seat on Principal Financial Group, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Audit; Nominating and Governance committee of Principal Financial Group, effective 2022-01-01.
  • H. Elizabeth Mitchell member of Audit; Nominating and Governance, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Claudio N. Muruzabal seat on Principal Financial Group, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Mary E. Maliz Beams seat on Principal Financial Group, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Human Resources; Nominating and Governance committee of Principal Financial Group, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Claudio N. Muruzabal member of Human Resources; Nominating and Governance, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Alfredo Rivera seat on Principal Financial Group, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Clare S. Richer seat on Principal Financial Group, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Audit; Finance committee of Principal Financial Group, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Alfredo Rivera member of Audit; Finance, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Finance; Human Resources; Executive committee of Principal Financial Group, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Clare S. Richer member of Finance; Human Resources; Executive, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Jonathan S. Auerbach seat on Principal Financial Group, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Jonathan S. Auerbach member of Finance; Human Resources, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Diane C. Nordin seat on Principal Financial Group, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair; Finance committee of Principal Financial Group, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Diane C. Nordin member of Audit · Chair; Finance, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Scott M. Mills seat on Principal Financial Group, effective 2016-01-01.
  • Scott M. Mills lead independent director of Principal Financial Group, effective 2016-01-01.
  • Audit; Nominating and Governance; Executive committee of Principal Financial Group, effective 2016-01-01.
  • Scott M. Mills member of Audit; Nominating and Governance; Executive, effective 2016-01-01.
  • Blair C. Pickerell seat on Principal Financial Group, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Roger C. Hochschild seat on Principal Financial Group, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Finance; Human Resources committee of Principal Financial Group, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Blair C. Pickerell member of Finance; Human Resources, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Human Resources; Nominating and Governance · Chair committee of Principal Financial Group, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Roger C. Hochschild member of Human Resources; Nominating and Governance · Chair, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Jocelyn Carter-Miller seat on Principal Financial Group, effective 2001-01-01.
  • Human Resources; Nominating and Governance; Executive committee of Principal Financial Group, effective 2001-01-01.
  • Jocelyn Carter-Miller member of Human Resources; Nominating and Governance; Executive, effective 2001-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:c2b34b90-fd6c-419b-8deb-5f44a6526a28, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/principal-financial-group-inc

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:c2b34b90-fd6c-419b-8deb-5f44a6526a28
  • Cite this recordPrincipal Financial Group
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/principal-financial-group-inc
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    Principal Financial GroupCompany
  • Amy FriedrichPerson
  • Christopher LittlefieldPerson
  • Deanna D. Strable-SoethoutPerson
  • George DjurasovicPerson
  • Joel PitzPerson
  • Kamal BhatiaPerson
  • Kathleen KayPerson
  • Kenneth McCullumPerson
  • Thomas CheongPerson
  • Vivek AgrawalPerson
  • Alfredo RiveraPerson
  • Blair C. PickerellPerson
  • Clare S. RicherPerson
  • Claudio N. MuruzabalPerson
  • Diane C. NordinPerson
  • H. Elizabeth MitchellPerson
  • Jocelyn Carter-MillerPerson
  • Jonathan S. AuerbachPerson
  • Mary E. Maliz BeamsPerson
  • Roger C. HochschildPerson
  • Scott M. MillsPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewPrincipal Financial Group
  • MonitoringPrincipal Financial Group
  • LeadershipPrincipal Financial Group
  • BoardPrincipal Financial Group
  • CommitteesPrincipal Financial Group
  • Control and votingPrincipal Financial Group
  • Authority to actPrincipal Financial Group
  • FinancialsPrincipal Financial Group
  • GovernancePrincipal Financial Group
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.